Sending out an S.O.S.

September 12, 2008 at 6:51 pm 2 comments

In the process of learning to use WordPress, there are just some answers I can’t find. So I’m asking my friends who use WordPress to help a sister out.

1. How do I make my handy dandy list of blogs I read? I rely on that list of friends, and plan to add more to it, so I have to figure out how to get it on here.

I had a question #2, but I can’t remember it.

I will put this link in my handy dandy list of blogs once I know how to do it, but for now, my old blog is albritton5.blogspot.com, in case anybody gets here from facebook or something and hasn’t’ seen the old one. That’s not shameless self promotion, it’s just a helpful hint to those who might not have seen the video of my brother and I sliding down a tarp coated with baby oil.

That sounds way too backwoods.

I kept my nephew Jack this morning. We had a wonderful time, Jack and me. Paisley, on the other hand, was sweet for about 20 minutes, long enough for me to take pictures. Then she decided that Jack was taking her mommy. The weird thing was…she acted JUST like Aidan and Molly do towards her.

Major teachable moment when the kids came home. We had this long talk about how they taught Paisley how to take toys and throw fits. Then as soon as I shut my trap, Aidan grabbed the toy frog Molly was holding and they started duking it out. All while Paisley watched wide-eyed.

It’s like talking to 2 walls.

But Jack was precious, and he babbled and cooed all over his Aunt Anne. Aunt Anne is just not a cool name. I need a special little something that Max, Maggie and Jack can call me. Any ideas?

I’ll post some pics from this morning on the See for yourself page.

Last night was one of those nights that was good and bad. Michael and I are going through some stuff. Not with us, but just life stuff. We’re in major prayer over some pretty big decisions we have to make in the near future. So we prayed.

And I realized that I had not really dealt with God about some stuff.

So I did.

And there was snot and mascara everywhere.

Luckily, Michael had on an oldy-moldy tshirt, so he didn’t seem to mind. He actually was very understanding, and affirmed me in the fact that it’s okay to be angry with God. He pointed out that as long as we don’t turn away, as long as we continue to talk to God about how we feel and don’t harden our hearts, then it’s okay to feel anger. Anger is only a secondary emotion anyway. The roots of anger are either fear or sadness. In these particular situations, I’m experiencing both.

I was really in need of a good weepfest, so I’m glad I got it out. I can’t remember the last time I did that. Crying during the Olympics does not count.

I’m going to fold clothes…I’ve asked a lot of you people today…I need instructions on how to do my list thingy, and I need a cute name that my nephews and niece can call me.

Mucho love-o.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I’d turn the frown upside down… Another late night, waiting on Michael Phelps

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. April  |  September 12, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Ok, I looked at the ilife blog and the blogroll is a “category” I created. Does that help?

    Reply
  • 2. travisandstephanie  |  September 13, 2008 at 12:05 am

    Hey- I use WordPress and if you are ready for a lengthy explanation on how to do the list of blogs then keep reading…it isn’t complicated- just lengthy to get started.

    1. Go to your “dashboard” and click on “manage” (my words might be a little off, but they are close enough that I know you can get to where I am sending you)
    2. Click on “links”
    3. Click on “add”
    4. Type the title of the blog as you want it to appear on your blog
    5. Type the web address (be sure to add the http:// stuff)
    6. Scroll down and choose a “category” for the links to be organized in. WordPress will automatically stick them in “blog roll” if you don’t specify something different. You might need to create a category if you aren’t given one you especially like- there should be an “add category” option.
    7. On your blog right now, you have 2 sites showing up under blogroll. If you want those to stay, then do nothing. If, however, you want them to go far far away, click on “manage” and then “links” again and they will be shown and you can check a box and click “remove” to get rid of them. If you file nothing else under blogroll, removing those 2 links will also get rid of that heading on your sidebar. Let me know if you have any other questions. I really like WordPress but I, too, was a bit confused at first on how to do things. šŸ™‚
    Steph
    travisandstephanie.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
September 2008
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


