So Phelps isn’t that Phunny

September 15, 2008 at 3:31 am 1 comment

I was up late, by myself, watching America’s fave swimmer dude try to host SNL. I laughed at all the other people on the show, but not really at him. I’ll blame the writers and say that they didn’t play to his strengths. That way he’s still on his little golden pedestal and everybody wins, right?

Today was a good day. On the way to church, Aidan asked us how hurricanes are formed, and why the grass is green. So after the earth science lesson, we talked about Molly and her makeup. Yes, you read that right.

I was getting dressed this morning and put on a white top and brown pants. I like both items and they are nice on their own. But it was boring. So for a little extra whatever, I put on a scarf, which colorwise is equally boring, but at least it’s a print. I tried to wrap it around a couple of times, like Katie Holmes in all those paparazzi pics on E!Online. Anyway….Molly saw me and asked if I had a scarf for her. I happened to find an old scarf belt that didn’t make the Goodwill donation. It’s brightly colored with a Pucci print on it.

I should have taken a picture. My precious girl in her blue smocked dress and her scarf, casually draped around her neck 3 or 4 times. She would have nothing to do with a hairbow. Then she asked for lipstick.

I put a little bit of gloss on her 3 year old lips, then she asked for…the whole shebang. She asked for eye liner, mascara, just like at the dance recital. I laughed and told her no, not until she’s 13. She said 6, I said 13, she said 9, I said, “You can do lip gloss at 10, then makeup at 13, end of story.”

My daughter went to church with shiny lips and that wild scarf and was so proud. She even wore it again tonight, with her black and white toile print dress. I think the scarf ended up more as a plaything than an accessory, but I’m glad she had a chance to be grown up for just a bit. I don’t mind her dressing up, because I know at the end of the day, she’s “just Molly” as she always tells us. She’s my little girl who loves to color, loves to sing, loves to dance, loves to tell knock knock jokes and loves to hug her mama.

Paisley will not talk. She says a few words, but for the most part, all we hear from her is “ssssssth! ssssssth!” She makes this sound that nobody can imitate. It’s so weird. So last night, I was “talking” back to her trying to make that sound. Michael asked if we were having a conversation. I said, “Yes! My baby speaks Parseltongue!” Now that’s only funny if you’ve read the Harry Potter books. So Michael and I decided that Paisley is part Slytherin, which is not a good thing at all. I may be raising a Death Eater before my very eyes.

I have a bad burn on my arm. It’s healing, according to my friend Elizabeth. But it looks nasty. I’m ready for cold weather just to cover it up with sleeves! I heard today that this winter is supposed to be colder than normal. OH I HOPE SO!!!! I’m breaking out my leopard print furry hat and wearing it to church if it is!

I heard something really funny the other night. A girl in choir told me that she works with a girl who spends 2 weeks at the MS State Fair each year living in her RV. She works all day, then spends the evenings in the beer tent. Now this may sound like fun to you, but I just would rather do just about anything else.

Through this experience of living in close quarters with the high class of folks that facilitate our clean, well-maintained fair rides, she has learned this fact that I must pass on to all my friends that are regular Fair patrons. Brace yourself:

The fair workers take baths in the jacuzzis on display in the Trade Mart!!!!!! I’m not making this up. She promises that this girl is telling the truth about this. So, in the same trade mart where we go to Mistletoe Marketplace, Handworks, the Kelly’s Kids sale and everything else….at some point there are fair workers, naked, with soap, hanging out in the hot tubs. That’ll make you throw up your funnel cake.

I’ll leave you with that.

Oh! Happy, happy, happy birthday to my sweet sister-in-law, Sharon! Nobody in the world is more perfect for my brother than she is. She is awesome at her job, she’s a wonderful mom, and a terrific wife. I love her and I’m glad she’s in my family.
And Happy birthday to my friend April. If you read the old blog, you’ll know that I kept her precious daughter last spring and had a wonderful time. April had a great day and I’m so glad she got a birthday nap! She’s also great at what she does (which is a lot!) and I’m glad she’s my friend. So happy day, y’all.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Another late night, waiting on Michael Phelps More Than Enough

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. April  |  September 16, 2008 at 3:24 am

    I did not realize Sharon and I share a b’day. In fact, we ran into them last night after church at Biaggi’s. I didn’t know we were all there for the same reason! Thanks for the birthday wishes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
September 2008
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…


