More Than Enough

September 17, 2008 at 2:01 am 1 comment

I have really struggled with whether to write about this or not. I have a precious family member who tells me on a regular basis to never discuss money or lack thereof. So I may mention a struggle or two to a close family member or friend, but never on the blog. But I hope that by my writing this that God gets the glory. That’s my sole reason for sharing this with you.

It’s been a rough couple of weeks. We have been cutting our trips to Madison short, and stretching the groceries as far as they’ll go. We’re fine, and my Michael is an awesome provider, but it’s just been a rough couple of weeks. I said that already.

Anyway, I have been worried about fall clothes for the kids. They are growing so fast, and I just knew that I would have to completely re-wardrobe them for Fall. I bit the bullet this morning and went through the girls’ closet, trying on old clothes and pulling out some precious hand-me-downs for Paisley. I discovered that Paisley will need NO clothes for Fall. She has plenty. Between last years stuff that she can wear (she just got taller, not bigger!) Molly’s clothes and some other handmedowns, she’s set. And quite stylish, I might add! I was so relieved and happy, I think I called 3 people to tell them!

Just as I was about to move on to Molly’s side, I found a box that said Baby Keds. Inside were a pair of hardly worn white leather Keds that Molly had gotten from a friend when she was little and never wore. I kept them, and actually meant to give them to GoodWill before I had Paisley. Then we moved and they ended up in the back of the closet. I looked at the size, 4 and a half. She outgrew her size 4’s a few weeks ago, and 5’s are still too big. These are perfect, and in great shape, and so cute. I spent a few minutes thanking God and praising him for being so awesome.

Then…Molly’s side. She can wear a lot of her stuff from last year too. I need to get her some new clothes though, simply because it pays off when Paisley gets them! But I was so relieved that during this cool snap we’re having, my girl has some cute things to wear.

Aidan’s room…He can still wear every shirt I bought him last year. I know they’ve grown, I watched their feet come out of shoes and their shorts get shorter this summer, but for some reason, his dress shirts are perfect this year. Maybe last year he just looked like a bum in baggy shirts and I just didn’t notice. Anyway, just a few pants and shoes and some tshirts and he’s good to go.

So that was 3 blessings in a row, and it didn’t stop there. I went to the mailbox, and in it was a check from LeapFrog Consignment store. I took them clothes MONTHS ago, and I’ve asked how much credit I have and they’ve told me, and I’ve used a little bit here and there, but they never mailed me a check. So today, of all days, there was a check.

About a week ago, I was really frustrated with this whole situation. I know God takes care of us, he always does. But I was so mad at it being a struggle. Then I was reading blogs one night and both Carrie P. and Big Mama had blogs at the same time on God’s provision. Then I went to Bible Study and the study on the Lord’s Prayer was on “Give us this day our daily bread.” Whoa. I get it, Lord. You take care of us. But when? how?

I saw his provision firsthand today. Clear as crystal. My worries were for nothing, as they always are.

I’ve also been told by the same family member I mentioned earlier that if you’re gonna have problems, money problems are the best kind to have. I have to say, although it’s been a tough week, I agree wholeheartedly. We’re healthy, happy, and we serve a wonderful, glorious, precious Lord who knows our needs and meets them according to His riches. Our riches are like dust compared to His. I’ve been reminded of that this week. When I want to covet, when I want to pity myself, when I want to complain, I remember that God has and always will give me His riches when I am need. That’s an easy choice. The world’s riches are temporary. They fade, they stain, they break, they require heavy maintenance. God’s riches are perfect, pure, permanent.

Today as I tried the clothes on Aidan and Molly, I got so tickled at their reactions. Molly treated each old outfit from last year like it was her favorite. She would say, “oh look at this little pocket! I LOVE this pocket!” or, “Mom, wouldn’t this look so cute with black tights?” She was thrilled, and didn’t ask for anything new. Aidan was the same way. He responded to every shirt with, “Can I wear that tomorrow?” or “These look great!” I was so proud and thankful that my kids are content with the riches we have, and hopefully will learn that the true treasure is in Heaven with Jesus.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

So Phelps isn’t that Phunny I’m no Amy Poehler, but here’s the Weekend Update!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  September 17, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    wow. all i can sayis, wow. i feel like a tremendous burden was just lifted. i can’t tell you how much this speaks to me right now, i really can’t. thanks for sharing your thoughts on such a personal subject. it was a much needed blessing today. you’re awesome, anne. keep doing what you’re doing. it’s working!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
September 2008
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • RT @Dodgers: HERO. #ThisTeam https://t.co/tUQ3UsJTA3 22 hours ago
  • I’ve looked forward to church today since I left the parking lot last Sunday. Grateful for @gccjxn ! 1 day ago
  • Just sitting here, basking in the realization that my kids are too old for the pumpkin patch. I’m thrilled at this development. 5 days ago
  • My whole family wishes they’d send Iris into the speed force on #TheFlash. First episode of season 4 and she’s already making us mad. 6 days ago
  • Paisley: “who’s winning the game?” Michael: “the Cubs are ahead.” P: “they’re beating Walgreens?” That “W” throws her off every time. 1 week ago

