I’m no Amy Poehler, but here’s the Weekend Update!

September 21, 2008 at 4:04 am 1 comment

There is NOTHING on tv. As I flipped through my limited channel offerings, I saw a football game that was not SEC (what’s the point?), old reruns of Frasier, one of the Law and Order shows, the weather, and a commercial for the 20th anniversary DVD of Sweatin’ to the Oldies. Richard Simmons’ afro is just a touch grayer, but he’s as fit as ever!

We’ve had a busy day. Molly had a birthday party, and Aidan spent some time with my mama. We browsed around LeapFrog, had ice cream at Chickfila, and did a little housecleanin’. Paisley and Michael spent the day at home. Michael got some things done and she loved the time with her daddy. I think I could count on one hand the times they’ve been by themselves.

The kids were worn slap out so they were in bed by 7:30. My kind of night. So I’m watching Richard Simmons and Michael is in our room reading a book called Sheet Music. Look it up if you want to know what it’s about, all I’m sayin’ is…if you’re married, you NEED to read this book. IF YOU ARE MARRIED. It’s really a great book, funny and very truthful. I loved it. But that’s all I’ll say about that.

Paisley runs out into the street. Yep. Like a crazy person. And I’ve realized that she does it because she knows I don’t want her to. The more I say NO! the faster those chubby legs move. She’s got a good streak of rebel in her. If it sticks, and she’s like this in, say, 15 years…Lord help us all. That’s just a trait that I don’t get. I never really rebelled. I did my own thing as far as following the crowd, but when it came to authority, I was pretty obedient. I hated getting in trouble. Still do! So I have to figure out how to tame the rebelliousness without breaking that carefree spirit. I’m thinking lots of prayer.

I was picking out Sunday clothes for tomorrow and realized that Paisley doesn’t have enough Sundays to wear all the cute stuff she has. But Molly…her summer stuff fits, but it’s so hard to put her in a light pink smocked dress in September. I will anyway, I’m sure, but until I find time to shop, she just is out of Sunday clothes. The dress she’s wearing tomorrow is to her knees, and looks a little funny, but she’ll be fine. If anyone cares, then that’s their problem, right?

Maggie, my niece, hears everything. If you read Sharon’s blog then you can read some of the things she says. She was at Chickfila today with Max and Emy, Sharon’s sweet mama. I was with my oldest 2 kids and my mama. Anyway, I told Molly that if she left her ice cream cone on the table I’d eat it so it wouldn’t melt. So Molly quickly finished eating what she wanted and gave the rest to me. A few minutes later, my mom took Maggie to the restroom. The whole way there, you could hear her saying, “That’s MY ice cream on the table. Nobody eat MY ice cream!” They were back within 2 minutes. Emy asked her if she went and my mom said, “I sat her down and she looked at me and said, ‘I can’t go. I have to get back. Anne might eat my ice cream!'” We all cracked up. She heard me threaten to eat Molly’s and got scared that I’d scarf hers down while she was on the potty.

Here’s a video of Paisley. I know, I’m doing my stage mom thing again, but she’s finally willing to do something other than hiss at the camera. She’s been watching the kids do stunts on the furniture, and when they’re at school, it’s Paiz’s turn!

*disclaimer: the shoes were her idea. She loves those little brown shoes that are almost too small. And I know she needs a new diaper, I changed her right after the video! But if you’ve seen videos of my kids from the past, you know that fashion is just not a big deal when they’re being funny!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

More Than Enough We didn’t light it, but we’re trying to fight it!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer R.  |  September 22, 2008 at 1:53 am

    That little Paisley is too cute! When I went to pick Jack up after Sunday School today, she got very upset. They had been playing together, and when we turned around to go, she started crying. She is so sweet with Jack!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
September 2008
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


