We didn’t light it, but we’re trying to fight it!

September 24, 2008 at 1:59 am Leave a comment

If you were a teenager in the early 90’s, and you lived in the Jackson area, then this song was probably on a mix tape you made off of 94TYX. I love some Billy Joel. He’s got a way about him, that guy.

It would be impossible not to blog about today. I mean, what day do you get to cry on your friends’ shoulders, get a huge blessing in the mail, then corral the kids, then rub elbows and shake hands at an office reception, then watch a bonfire in your front yard, complete with cheerleaders and a marching band?

I had a moment this morning at Bible Study where I shed some tears over something really inconsequential. I think I’ve just put on a happy face about something I’ve been struggling with and I just reached my exhaustion point. I was so thankful that I had a few folks near me who are learning to love me, and I’m so grateful for their acceptance.

Then I got home, and there was a package on my doorstep that not only met a major need in my life, it helped strengthen my faith and allowed me to experience firsthand that God answers prayers and provides by using people who listen to his voice. Without going into detail, let me just say that it made my week, and I’m so happy to have relationships with wonderful people who love the Lord.

Then it was our typical afternoon, filled with fights and tears, no naps and lots of whining. Nothing new there!

Tonight was the dedication reception at Michael’s office. They’ve renovated an old doctor’s office here in Canton. It’s a beautiful building, and his boss and the architect had a great vision. So I stood in my heels through the speeches and prayer, then ate really good dip and drank bottled water and shook hands and laughed at the engineers having a party. Not a bad 2 hours.

When we got home, we bid adieu to my mom and dad, then went outside and sat on the tailgate of Michael’s truck. Just because.

Not really. Right across the street from our house is Canton Academy. This is their homecoming week and they had a bonfire in the lot closest to our house. So we had great seats to hear the band, see the cheerleaders and watch the fire. The kids danced in the truck and we had a great time.

Remember that I said Aidan and Molly hadn’t had a nap and were quite whiny? It really kicked in by about halfway through the fire. So we headed to bed, and right about the time we were putting Paisley in her crib, the firetruck started honking its horn. Loudly. The band cranked back up and the drums were beating. Poor Paiz was scared to death. As I held her, I tried to explain about homecoming and traditions, but I don’t think she got it.

So there was a lot of crying and hollering, plus the fire truck and the band. An occasional siren or two. But after about half an hour, it all chilled out and the kids are tucked away in their beds. Well, Molly’s in ours, because she couldn’t sleep with Paisley screaming.

So it was an eventful day. Sorry to take you through it with me, but I’m processing it all in my head, and I need an outlet.

Yesterday was the dentist. The kids did great, but we have some cavities. The first week of November there will be fillings, and it’s not gonna be pretty.

So the eventful day is over. Now it’s just Michael and me and Dancing With The Stars. What is UP with Samantha Harris’s hair? I’ve never seen an updo quite like that! I mean, why make fun of Sarah Palin when there is a much more jokeworthy head of hair available?

Michael is spending the day at MSU tomorrow, working a table at the career fair. I really wish I could go too. His boss said I could, but who would keep the kids? So maybe next time.

Here’s a motivational thought…if Cloris Leachman can mambo, then so can you.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I’m no Amy Poehler, but here’s the Weekend Update! Forgive Us Our Debts

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
September 2008
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


