Ode to Jenni

September 28, 2008 at 3:41 am 3 comments

I think an ode is supposed to be like a poem, all rhymie and stuff, so this really won’t be an ode. If I tried to rhyme, there would be an ode-r coming from this post. Yes, that was a stupid joke, but I’m not deleting it. So there.

It’s Jenni’s birthday! Jenni is my cousin. She’s my mom’s brother’s daughter and she’s 4 months older than me. She has a big sister, Sarah, who is also my cousin. Um, yes, I’m really rollin’ tonight, guys. And a younger brother, Dan, and you know the connection.

Anyway, she reads the blog. She never comments, and I’m dealing with that. But I know she reads, simply because her girls love my videos. They are Tatum and Trevor, ages 5 and 3, respectively. They are so precious to me, because they’re just precious, but also because they love on my kids. If Aidan and Tatum were not related, they’d totally get married, but since they’re cousins…gross.

Anyway, I thought I’d write about Jenni tonight because there is less than 2 hours left in her birthday and I think she’s great enough to write about. First of all, she’s funny. She is probably the wittiest person I know. I learned at an early age, you just can’t sit by her in church. I get this pain in my side from laughing and trying to be quiet that I just can’t handle it. When we were in high school, she came with me to Alta Woods on the Sunday night VBS recognition. The offering plate was particularly full this evening and Jenni leaned over and whispered as she passed the plate, “What if I want to give $5, but only have a $20?” I thought I would fall off the pew. She pretended like she was making change with the offering and Sarah and I giggled through the rest of the service. She could insult really well, and always had quick comebacks. All in good fun, of course.

Jenni was unbeatable. When they were here for a week in the summer, we always had a “thing” that we did that year. One year, we learned about wedgies. We spent the whole week sneaking up behind each other and giving wedgies. Sarah and I might as well have just kept our underwear up our behinds, because Jenni could always get us, and we could never get her. But Jenni played dirty, attacking Sarah in her sleep. So not fair, Jen.

Are you guys mad at me yet for making this public?

Jenni is incredibly stylish. She knows what works, and will tell me if something doesn’t. She has great taste in home decor, and her girls are always cute. She has tried every beauty product and will tell you what is good or not. She’ll give me a makeover anytime I ask for one, and the day of my brother’s wedding, she gave me a french pedicure herself. I think I’d love her for that alone, but I’m glad there’s so many more reasons.

She’s generous. If she sees a lipstick our Mamaw would like, she picks it up for her. She is always recommending people she knows that take great pictures, sell pretty frames, make cute clothes and all that stuff.

She’s sensitive. She cares a lot about her girls, and is a great parent. I can tell that they adore her and she plays with them as she mothers them. She cries when a kid gets hurt. She comes to the hospital when someone has a baby. She picked up a strawberry parfait from KFC when I had Aidan. Happy times.

I have so many memories with her. Obviously, we grew up together, so every stage of life was talked, laughed or cried about. She and Sarah are my sisters. We spent summers going to the Science Museum, the Ag Museum, and Waterland. I think we did Waterland every summer even until high school. We went to the movies in Cleveland and they convinced me that Field of Dreams would be a good movie. They were right.

We wrote letters to one another all year long. We traded dance pictures and went to that place in Metro where you take pictures in the booth? CPI? Is that it? Oh my goodness, we took the hottest pics there in our Vuarnet shirts. If I had a scanner, I could ruin us all for life. The next year, we went red, white, and blue. The memory hurts my mind.

Jenni, Sarah and I made up dances in the backyard. “The Glory of Love” was our fave song, and we loved us some Peter Cetera. We dressed up in our Aunt Lisa’s old dresses and thought we were awesome. We hid in the linen closet, buried under hundreds of quilts and talked and laughed with our flashlights and peppermints. We made Mamaw breakfast in bed one morning, and really screwed up those eggs.

In the middle of the night we played with playdoh. Just because we couldn’t sleep. We watched Follow That Bird when we were in HIGH SCHOOL and laughed our tails off.

We dated weirdos, and when we each found the greatest guy in the world, we stood proudly for one another, thankful that God provided us with just the right guy.

I love my cousins. I love the kids we were, I love the teenagers we were, and I love who we’ve turned out to be. I’m glad God has let me do life with them. And I’m glad He’s allowed Jenni to be such a big part of my life for 32 years. She’s a great, wonderful person, and I hope she had a great day! Happy birthday Gingy.

(this is Jenni with Trevor, at Molly’s 3rd birthday party. Trevor’s hair really doesn’t look like that.)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Forgive Us Our Debts Midnight Cutting Boards

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nicki  |  September 28, 2008 at 3:55 am

    How sweet! Makes me wish Jenni was MY cousin! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Jennifer  |  September 28, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    Jenni, I have a microphone bouquet you can use to give and “Ode to Anne!” Love you Anne and Jenni is pretty awesome!

    Reply
  • 3. Kelly  |  September 29, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    That is so sweet. Jenni seems like a great cousin.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
September 2008
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…


