So I’m the Only Mom That Yells…

October 7, 2008 at 5:12 am 1 comment

Aidan had his first baseball game Sunday. I don’t think he or Michael knew what a big deal this was to me. Michael played baseball all of his life. He was a great third baseman, and really understood the game and what it takes to be a part of a good team. This was such a big part of his life that when we got married, we discussed whether we would make baseball optional or not.

Then we met Aidan.

From almost the time he could walk, we were pretty sure he wouldn’t care a thing about baseball. His imagination was so active, and he was so busy being creative that doing anything that involved chasing a ball bored him. Thankfully, Michael didn’t want us to be a full time baseball family, so we put any ideas of him playing aside.

Then he turned 5.

Soccer was completely boring to him. So in the backyard, he and Michael began to catch and throw. Then they started hitting. Aidan realized that if he worked hard at it, he could hit the ball. He’s really come a long way and done really well this summer. So we signed him up for Fall Ball. Michael’s the coach. We got the TShirt, and I’m so glad it’s orange. He looks cute in orange.

They play 3 innings, everybody bats, everybody runs. Aidan hit the ball on his VERY FIRST PITCH. I was thrilled. He made it around and felt great.

This is his second at-bat:

He has to work on his speed…apparently he hasn’t realized that getting to first base is pretty crucial.

I was the first first-time mom in the stands. So I was really glad my mama was there to yell with me.

I am so proud of him. When I found out I was having a boy I wanted him to at least try baseball. Just to learn the sport and have a few seasons of the sport that brought his daddy so many memories and taught him so much about hard work, commitment, and sportsmanship. Then when I met him, and realized he was like me, I wondered if he would ever have the chance. I didn’t play a lot of sports growing up, and have always wished that I had. But fear of failure and being made fun of kept me from trying and getting better. I wanted Aidan to do better than I did. So I worried that his arms would keep him from being able to throw and hit like he should. Michael told me that if Aidan wanted to play, he would play. Aidan was about 6 weeks old and my sweet husband told me that if Aidan wanted to throw and had trouble with his arms, then Michael would learn to throw without full extension and teach Aidan how.

They’ve worked and worked in the yard, and Sunday I got to see my precious boy show that he can do what I wasn’t sure he could. I was so proud of him. He has no idea that God made him unique. And gosh, I’m so glad He did! I love every thing about that kid. Especially this face,

God made him special. I pray that he comes to realize that in time. He is so much like me in so many ways…face, hair, body type, personality, interests. I’m really thankful that he is learning to love what Michael loved. The other night a game was on TV and Aidan curled up in Michael’s lap and asked who all the players were and what was going on. It was the White Sox, and Aidan said that was his team, because all of his socks are white!

Apparently, that’s just another way he’s like his mama.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Tears of a Clown Playin’ Hooky (and thoughts about other stuff)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. nicki  |  October 7, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    HA! The socks comment cracked me up. How sweet of Michael to adjust his throwing for his little boy. What a perfect picture of a daddy’s love! Aidan will read this story one day and realized how lucky he is to be an Albritton!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • RT @Dodgers: HERO. #ThisTeam https://t.co/tUQ3UsJTA3 22 hours ago
  • I’ve looked forward to church today since I left the parking lot last Sunday. Grateful for @gccjxn ! 1 day ago
  • Just sitting here, basking in the realization that my kids are too old for the pumpkin patch. I’m thrilled at this development. 5 days ago
  • My whole family wishes they’d send Iris into the speed force on #TheFlash. First episode of season 4 and she’s already making us mad. 6 days ago
  • Paisley: “who’s winning the game?” Michael: “the Cubs are ahead.” P: “they’re beating Walgreens?” That “W” throws her off every time. 1 week ago

