Playin’ Hooky (and thoughts about other stuff)

October 9, 2008 at 3:03 am 4 comments

I haven’t missed choir practice in a long time. I love going, it’s a highlight of my week, both for the singing and the fellowship.

But I’ve had a weird week. I’ve felt strange, and have been unusually tired. Today I woke up feeling so much better, and my frame of mind has been somewhat normal. So we decided to stay home and make the most of this good mood. You know what they say about “when mama’s happy….”!

The kids played outside for 2 hours tonight. Since I mostly just stand around and supervise, I figured I might as well get some pictures taken. I’m amazed at how they’re growing so fast. They can do things on the swingset that they couldn’t do a year ago. Paisley can just about keep up with the big kids. They have to be a bit careful around her, but they’re learning.

She made it to the top!

Hanging around…

Sorry for the underwear…it’s just how Molly rolls…

I was trying to get a picture of her curls, but then Paiz got whacked in the head. Bless her.

So she decided to eat the swingset.

In the “big kid” swing

This one is my favorite.

Or maybe this one…even in that outfit that used to be her BROTHER’S…she’s still precious.

I brought her a baby doll to stroll and she got excited.

Aidan had been watching the blackbirds fly around through his binoculars. He’s practicing birdwatching for when he retires.

 

The kids like to play “restaurant” in the truck. They go to the back window and take your order. Paiz was making sure daddy wanted fries with that.

Tomorrow is the Canton Flea Market. I look forward to this day all year. Mom and I go in October, May is too dadgum hot! We don’t buy much, but we see people we know and like to laugh at the stuff people sell (and buy!). Michael takes the day and stays home with the kids. Oh, how I love my family.

So I’m making chicken salad tonight, because Mom and I come home at lunch to rest our feet and eat something other than chicken on a stick. I can’t wait!

I hope you’ve enjoyed the pics. I know I have that whole page on here for pictures, but these were so cute, I thought I’d put ’em where you could see ’em.

Here’s a quick final thought. Michael and I watched the presidential candidate debate last night. Actually he watched it, I got tired of the bickering and went to the computer. He told me later that he heard a preacher on the radio recently that made a great point. I’ve been thinking about this all day. He said that as Christians, we tend to worry about the state of our nation, and about our beliefs and convictions being protected. We want to live in a nation that does things God’s way, and we get worried when it doesn’t look like the tide is turning in that direction.

He then said that America is not heaven. He said that it says in the Bible that every nation will turn away from God at some point. He said that our real battle is not protecting our Christianity in our country, but fulfilling our mission to share Christ with those who don’t know. Regardless of who is our Commander in Chief, we should have total assurance that God is in control. If I have Jesus in my heart (and I’m so glad I do!) then my biggest concern for my country is that people know Christ. I should view our nation as a nation of believers, not my nation of residence.

So many people spend so much time and energy trying to fight political battles to preserve morality, rather than serving others for them to come to know Jesus. This is not necessarily a bad thing, but maybe we need a change of focus. God doesn’t call us to fight for a Christian nation. He calls us to “Go and make disciples.” Our country is not on this earth. As believers, our home is in heaven with Jesus.

Reach one more for Jesus
Before we close our eyes
We must reach one more for Jesus
Don’t let another day go by
That’s what we’re living for
To reach one more
One more for Jesus.

This is the chorus to the song I sang Sunday in church. I started learning it 2 months ago, and worried more about the music than the words. But as it got closer to Sunday, I realized that if God has us living in a country that is facing problems and change, we have to be very aware of the needs of people around us. Everybody’s looking for it. If you have it, you should give it away.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

So I’m the Only Mom That Yells… Take 5 Minutes…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nicki  |  October 9, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    Hope you have fun today at the CFM. I really wanted to go but it is Payroll day at work.

    Reply
  • 2. carriemclean  |  October 9, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    hey. i’m am idiot. the top of your page has the sept 9th entry, so since sept 9, i’ve been checking, not scrolling down two inches, not seeing a new post, thinking you hadn’t written, and assuming you were injured or dying in the road somewhere. i almost facebooked you to see if you were okay! anyway, even though it turns out you didn’t go anywhere, i’m glad you’re back.

    Reply
  • 3. Jennifer R.  |  October 10, 2008 at 12:53 am

    I love the pictures. Your kids are just precious!

    Reply
  • 4. Nikki  |  October 11, 2008 at 1:44 am

    Beautiful Family! Your children just amaze me. You and Michael do a great job fostering their individualism. They are who they are and they are WONDERFUL! 🙂

    Love the end too. Reach one more…we reach 1, then they reach 1, then that one reaches 1…. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • RT @Dodgers: HERO. #ThisTeam https://t.co/tUQ3UsJTA3 1 day ago
  • I’ve looked forward to church today since I left the parking lot last Sunday. Grateful for @gccjxn ! 2 days ago
  • Just sitting here, basking in the realization that my kids are too old for the pumpkin patch. I’m thrilled at this development. 6 days ago
  • My whole family wishes they’d send Iris into the speed force on #TheFlash. First episode of season 4 and she’s already making us mad. 6 days ago
  • Paisley: “who’s winning the game?” Michael: “the Cubs are ahead.” P: “they’re beating Walgreens?” That “W” throws her off every time. 1 week ago

