The Invasion of the Candy Has Begun!

October 27, 2008 at 3:36 am 2 comments

It’s here.

The week of Halloween.

My kids went to the dentist last month, and it wasn’t good. They’re getting fillings…3 days AFTER Halloween.

Lord protect their precious, sugar coated choppers.

This weekend has been busy. Too busy, if you ask me. We have so many things that are good to do, and we choose the ones that are the most meaningful to us. But there are still things that have to get done that just sit on the to-do list until we find some time to stay home for more than a minute.

For instance…we HAVE to sell our house. But we can’t sell it like it is…we have to make “improvements”, which are minor fix-ups. We have to clean out closets and make them look nice and organized. We have to caulk the tub.

And we have to find a way to hog-tie our children so they won’t bother us while we tackle these daunting tasks.

(I have used a hyphenated word in the last 3 little paragraphs. Wow.)

So, now that they’re all asleep and I have a minute to do some things before I collapse…

I thought I’d blog. Imagine that.

By the way, I had a funny conversation yesterday with the mom of a friend of mine. She told me she reads all of her daughter’s friends’ blogs. Then she told me that a friend of hers asked her, “Are you still reading those blobs?” Many, many times I feel like my writing is just a big blob of useless words in cyberspace, so she’s not too far off!

So here’s the weekend. It’s much easier to show you…

I went to the Superchick concert Friday night. I did this because I love the Adcock family very, very much and wanted to support Jonathan. And also because my precious Jr. High girls were going, and I desperately want them to think I’m cool, even though I say things to them like, “y’all watch out for cars when you cross the street.” Yeah, I think I killed it at that point.
Anyway…Allie and I took a picture. She may be one of the most awesome young women I’ve ever met. I totally admire her. And we talk about clothes, and I love that too.

Two of my girls. Doesn’t seventh grade rock? They had fun, and totally planned their outfits. They’re so great.

Buck and Jake, being Buck and Jake.

Saturday morning. This kills me…Aidan had a friend over. They were all playing Superheroes, and Aidan called a meeting of all the Superheroes. I have no idea what it was about, Michael was the photographer in attendance.

Here is Aidan, aka Superbossyman, facilitating the meeting.

Even Superheroes like to have a silly time when they’re on break from saving the planet.

And here is Jack. He’s all dressed up for my Mamaw’s 84th birthday party. We all went to my Aunt Lisa’s house Satuday night. I had the best time, because these are the best people in my life.

Girl Pic! Trevor, Tatum, Maggie and Molly.

Paiz and Tatum, sharing a smooch.

My mamaw, Lucy. If I can do half of all the good things she’s done, and influence half as many people as she has, then I’ve accomplished something great. She’s one of my heroes.

My cousins, Lucy and Jenni. I have to say this since Jenni’s sister Sarah reads the blog…When we took this picture, I said, “Awww, Lucy’s the new Irlene!” Sarah moved to Florida over a year ago, and we miss her so much. When she and Jenni and I were little, we used to pretend we were the Mandrell sisters. I was Barbara, Jenni was Louise, and Sarah, Irlene. It’s not the same without you, Sarah. The new Irlene can’t quite keep the beat on those drums like you could.

This is my Papaw, Boots. He’s every bit as amazing as my mamaw. He is smart, funny, godly, talented, and just as wonderful as can be. I’m so proud to be his granddaughter. I hope he’s proud of me. I didn’t have any recent pictures of my grandparents. I’m so glad we took these. They are the reason I’m here, and they are a big part of the reason that I know Jesus and honor and serve him. I love them both so much.

Tatum got vampire teeth and immediately went for the jugular.

My brother. If there is a better tshirt in this world, I haven’t seen it. The small print says, “too cold.”

My dad. He just got back from Africa. Oh, I missed him.

And the best is last. This is the face Paisley makes when I tell her to say Cheese! I hope you’re laughing, because this cracks me up.

I could put so many more up here, but then you’d be here forever, then resent me when you didn’t get any work done. I refuse to shoulder that responsibilty.

Today was good. I was up very early, had to pack for the day and be out of here by 8. The kids were worn out and didn’t feel well. We went to church then mom and dad’s house. The girls slept, sort of, and Aidan had a ballgame that I feel guilty for missing. Then it was time to costume up and go to the Fall Festival at church. I’m just going to have to put those pics up later. This one post is a lot to absorb, and reliving this weekend is making me sleepy.

I think tomorrow the kids are going to stay home. They are just so tired. Maybe we’ll hang out in the pajamas all day and watch dvds.

Thank you God, for the busyness. I’m tired, and I need some down time, just to regroup. But I’m so grateful that I have friends, family and a church that I can be involved with. If I wasn’t tired, then that would mean that I didn’t see the people I love this weekend, or hear my kids laugh like crazy. I could have a clean house, but then I wouldn’t have spent an evening with my grandparents. I could have slept in Sunday morning, but then I wouldn’t have praised you. Thank you Jesus, for giving me health to do all of these things, a van that gets us places, clothes to wear to church and food to eat. Thanks that gas prices have gone down. Thanks for parents that help us out in the chaos. Lord, we are so blessed. Thank you so much. amen.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

If He Changes His Mind Again… Join the Crowd…Tonight!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nicki  |  October 27, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    The pictures of Aidan holding his meeting crack me up!

    Reply
  • 2. Nikki  |  October 27, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    Ok, Aidan may have the gift of administration! Future pastor in the making?
    How precious all of those sweet babies are!

    Oh my, the picture of Pais and your dad totally cracked me up. I almost wet myself! How embarrassing would that have been?

    So thankful for you….
    Love ya.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Cut my hair yesterday. Had a stress dream that I had forgotten today was my wedding and my hair was now too short. It's been a long summer. 2 weeks ago
  • Up at 5 almost every day. Practice 3 hrs/day. Eating right. This has been our summer, and it paid off. So proud of my girls and our team! 3 weeks ago
  • @CoachDavidOrr So proud of every Sunkist swimmer! We love our swim family! Thank you for a great State Meet! 3 weeks ago
  • Last night I learned that Molly swims in her sleep. She hit me in the face with a strong backstroke. She cut time- my sleep time. 3 weeks ago
  • I'm learning that social media allows us to never ask each other how we are. We assume we know. We don't. 1 month ago

