Four Birthdays and a Lesson on Faith

November 12, 2008 at 8:43 pm 1 comment

I have not worn shoes since Sunday.

Because I had to wear them every waking (or walking?) minute of Friday, Saturday and Sunday, when I woke up on Monday morning, I made a resolve to wear no shoes, makeup, or hair product until I left for my Pampered Chef party on Tuesday night. So far, I’ve stuck to that resolve like velcro.

This weekend was a whirlwind of activity. Friday night, we celebrated Barnes and Samuel’s birthdays. They are our neighbors and friends, and their mom Jenny is one of the best people I’ll ever know in my life. The party was at Deep South Cheer and the kids ran and jumped and jumped and ran.

Saturday, we woke up, got dressed and did more running and jumping at Pump It Up for sweet Regan’s birthday party. That’s such a great place and it was fun to visit with people I don’t see much anymore because of busy Sunday schedules. Bill and Kimberly, Regan’s parents, are two of my favorite people and are always so sweet and gracious. I’m thankful all the time that I know them.

Saturday afternoon was sweet Scarlett’s birthday party. Scarlett is the soon to be one year old daughter of one of Michael’s oldest friends, Marc. Marc and Stephanie have a precious family and the party was so sweet. My kids had a great time outside, especially when daddy and Mr. Marc decided to show their skilz with a football. It was great to hang out with them again. There are not many people that we spend time with that knew Michael and me “when”, so it’s fun and really meaningful when we get those times with such special folks.

100_5176

We came home Saturday night and crashed. It was a long, wonderful day.

Sunday morning was busy and wonderful. As usual, I said goodbye to Michael and the kids and headed off for Jr. High girl time and didn’t see them again until after I hung up my choir robe. We met Michael’s parents at Wendy’s, then Michael and Aidan headed off to the baseball field for a double header and my mother in law took Paisley home for a nap. Molly and I went to Gattitown for another birthday party. This one wasn’t quite as sentimental as the other 3, especially after I had to pay to get in, but it was a lot of fun, and Molly and I enjoyed the time together.

Whew!

I know that was a long recap, but I’m so thankful for the people in my life that I had to mention each of these special events.

On the way home Saturday night, Molly and Aidan were chatting in the back of the van. These exchanges are always pretty entertaining to listen in on. Here’s what we heard:

Molly: “You know what, Aidan? If Jesus is in your heart, then you can feel him, like this, see?” (she puts her hand over her heart)
Aidan: (put his hand over his heart) “Well, Molly, all I can feel is my shirt.”

Michael and I got so tickled at that conversation, yet I couldn’t help but realize how that is such a natural, normal way to see things. If we don’t “feel” it, then it must not be there, right?

Hebrews 11:1 says “Now faith is the reality of what is hoped for, the proof of what is not seen.”

A few years ago, I took a spiritual gifts inventory. Every Christian has been given gifts to be used for God. One of my highest scores was in faith. I was surprised, because I don’t see myself as a “woman of great faith”, like Beth Moore, or Kay Arthur, or any other notable woman who is famous for their faith. I’m just me.

I believe my faith scores are high because I have utmost confidence that the God who made the universe and all that is contained therein, will guide me through the most minute details of my life. I believe he cares infinitely for me. I believe and trust that when life takes a turn for the worse, it’s never really as bad as we make it out to be. By having faith, I don’t spend time blaming and accusing and cursing God and the world for my bad luck. Faith means that if I need to adjust my own heart and mind, I will, and I will be thankful, even through the storms.

So I told Aidan and Molly that sometimes we just don’t feel Jesus. Sometimes all we feel is our shirt. But feelings change. We have to rely completely on what we know, not what we feel. I know that Jesus lives in me, therefore regardless of what I feel at the time, I should act on what I know. And if I act on what I know, not what I feel, then my feelings will eventually line up with what is true. Truth is the bottom line. If what I know is true, then I’m free from the negative feelings that come from The Accuser.

I have to put this into practice all the time. I have to constantly self-check so that I know that what I’ve said and done are covered in truth, and not my personal feelings. You should see the backspace action when I’m blogging! Regardless of how others respond, because I’m not responsible for that, if I know that what I say and do is positive and not hurtful and is with a pure heart, then I’m acting in love and exercising my faith in my relationships.

It sounds hard. It IS hard! But the crux of the matter is this. If you trust your feelings, they will fail you. You will feel your shirt sometimes, and feel Jesus sometimes, and be confused by the inconsistency. However, if you trust in what you know, meaning the truth of what Jesus has done for you and what he wants for your life, then regardless of what you feel, you’ll know the truth, and the truth will set you free.

And I’ll leave you with this happy little video…Molly has been working on her Prima Ballerina moves and performs nightly here at the Albritton Center for Dance and Rhythmic Interpretation.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Molly, aka Emily I Could Bake Him a Chocolate Chip Pecan Pie, but Where’s the Fun In That?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Nikki  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    🙂 Love it and you!
    Great job taking advantage of that teachable moment with your kids!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • RT @Dodgers: HERO. #ThisTeam https://t.co/tUQ3UsJTA3 1 day ago
  • I’ve looked forward to church today since I left the parking lot last Sunday. Grateful for @gccjxn ! 2 days ago
  • Just sitting here, basking in the realization that my kids are too old for the pumpkin patch. I’m thrilled at this development. 6 days ago
  • My whole family wishes they’d send Iris into the speed force on #TheFlash. First episode of season 4 and she’s already making us mad. 6 days ago
  • Paisley: “who’s winning the game?” Michael: “the Cubs are ahead.” P: “they’re beating Walgreens?” That “W” throws her off every time. 1 week ago

