Right Now, the Country Isn’t Cool

November 26, 2008 at 2:23 pm 1 comment

I live by a field. Y’all have seen this in my pictures.

They plowed up the field last week.

Yesterday, we killed 5 mice.

I’m very upset. I hate any form of rodent and most reptiles. I’m not even a fan of the hamster.

So today, I’m getting the kids dressed, and it’s off to my parents’ house we go. I refuse to live like this.

I was on Facebook yesterday, chatting it up, and a mouse ran out from under my desk WHERE I WAS SITTING.

My dad came over and set up traps, and within a few hours, Aidan yelled, “Hey Mom! There’s a mouse in the trap and he’s DAY-YUD” (Dead is what he meant…his pronunciation was awesome.)

That was the first one. Then one when we got home from church. Then one about 10:30 while Michael and I were house shopping online. Then I get out of bed this morning, stumble in the bathroom and he walks in and holds up 2 fingers.

I can’t handle it.

When we bought this house, I asked the previous owner if living by a field meant a problem with mice and that codger stood there and lied TO MY FACE and said no, it was not a problem at all. But he averted his eyes and stammered, and if I had half of the interrogation skills I have today I’d have picked up on it.

But then, the kids were only 3 and 1. Who would interrogate them at that age?

I was young and naive. Now I’m a suspicious, hardened, take no prisoners kind of mama who would see right through his untruths and get to the real story.

But at that point, we had closed on the house, so I’d have had to live here anyway.

You sleep in the bed you make, I guess.

Just set the traps before you doze off.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I Would Pick the Beads and Feathers Over a Long Black Dress and Bonnet, ANYDAY! I’ve Got a Great Post in my Head…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. April  |  November 27, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    Very cute & well-written post. Good luck kicking the mice out of the Albritton abode…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


