According to The Word, I Should Expect This

November 30, 2008 at 2:54 am 4 comments

You don’t have to read many of my posts to figure out that my faith is important to me.

When I went to college, my dad told me to decide what I believed for myself and not cling to their beliefs. I did that, and I feel like God has helped me come to a strong sense of conviction about what I believe.

Because I went to a Baptist college, pretty much everyone looked the same. At least, they said the same things and did the same things. Inside, we were each very different, I’m sure, but at MC it’s easy to put on a Christian face and blend in.

Except for this one dude I knew.

To my recollection, he made no acknowledgement of God then. We were acquaintances. I would never say we were friends, because we didn’t spend any time together to build a friendship. I liked him though, and the few lunches where we ended up at the same table were always entertaining.

Fast forward.

I love my facebook page. I’ve had it over 2 years and it’s like my window to the world on days when I have no adult interaction. I have lots and lots of so-called friends, 90% are just people I know. But it’s good to see pictures, and read what everyone is doing these days. Everyone from kindergarten buddies to former favorite professors has a facebook.

This dude and I became “friends” on facebook, and please know that I use that term so loosely. That’s what FB calls it, but I’m very aware that it takes a lot more than a point and click to develop a friendship.

So my “friend” is a highly creative writer who uses really colorful language in his status updates. To be more blunt, he uses words that I don’t like to read, much less hear or say myself. Over the course of several months, I became more and more agitated with the amount of “ugly words” as we call them here that I was having to read on my facebook.

Then one day Aidan sat with me and started picking out words he could read or sound out. I realized at that point that there was a very easy to pronounce 4-letter word right there in the middle of the screen.

Now, if you know me at all, you know that I don’t even watch prime time television, and on the rare occasion that I do, I mute the commercials and make the kids leave the room. I’m a big advocate of wholesome talk, and try to avoid anything that seems off-color. Overprotective? Probably, but I figure my kids will have to deal with deciding what they want to fill their eyes and ears with for the rest of their lives, as long as I’m in control here, I choose what they see, hear, and say.

So I felt convicted about bad language being on my computer screen for my kids to read. I decided to delete this guy as a friend. No hard feelings on my part, my motive was just pure protection of the people I love most.

This week, I added a wonderful friend of mine that I’ve known over half my life. He is also friends with this other guy (are you following this at all? I promise I’m going somewhere with it.)

The other guy left a post on my friend’s page that was kind of mean about me, and made me sound like I was quite the prude. Oh well. It really didn’t bother me, I knew why I had to do what I did. I’m not going to waste everyone’s time defending myself. But my sweet brother, who has some smart-aleck tendencies, came to my defense in his own funny way. Then today, he got an email, from this man he DOES NOT KNOW basically saying that those of us that believe as we do should be “put in their proper place: in the coliseum next to lions”. Then he left a post on my friend’s page making rude comments about my brother.

Now, this is just a little too much for me. First, it’s really immature, and I just don’t have enough hours in the day to deal with it. Second, it hurts my heart. I don’t understand how just making a stand for my convictions could result in such bitterness and character bashing. I just don’t want my kids to read cuss words, and now, based on his email, I should die?

My first reaction to that is to get upset. But then God reminded me of this verse: “Do not be surprised, brothers, if the world hates you.” 1 John 3:13. Actually, the whole book of First John talks about being in the world, but not of the world. John writes about loving others and being a child of God, and how to become a child of God. He also talks about not being deceived by Satan and how to know you’re a child of God. Mostly, he talks about love, and how the love we know as children of God is different from the love the rest of the world knows.

So I should have seen it coming. The world hates the children of God. There are those who would say that my action was wrong and unloving. That I should be tolerant of the language and accept him just as Jesus would. That’s a good point. But I also feel I have to protect my kids’ minds. I have to protect my own. The Bible also tells me to avoid unwholesome talk. If I read it, I have a tendency to say it. So I choose not to read it. That may be intolerant to some, but to me, it’s necessary in the building and demonstration of my faith.

I can love this guy. God has given me the ability to love him. I just don’t have to love the language. It’s clear that he doesn’t understand the kind of love I know. I wish he did. I’m praying for him.

I could go on about this, but I know this is getting long. Tomorrow should be a delightful day. We’re going to Starkville for Michael to play football with his high school buddies. I’m taking a lot of ibuprofen with me. These guys are gonna need it!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I’ve Got a Great Post in my Head… Live from Coon Central

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  November 30, 2008 at 4:32 am

    Anne, you did the right thing! I would have done the same thing! It reminds me of the song, “Oh, be careful little eyes what you see. Oh, be careful little ears what you hear for the Father up above is looking down in love. Oh, be careful little ears, eyes what you hear/see.”

    Reply
  • 2. Justin Knight  |  November 30, 2008 at 4:55 am

    1) If this guy was talking that way in front of your kids, you’d certainly ask him to stop. You can’t really do that with his public internet comments, so you handled it in the only way you knew how… you turned off his words. Bravo to you for putting your kids first.

    B) Here’s an example of the hypocrisy of the world. This guy is your “friend” when you’re willing to listen to him, but he wishes you dead when you aren’t. Everybody these days wants to have their own opinions, but they’re shocked when people don’t agree with them. The very ones who call for tolerance and equality are the same ones who’ll blast you for being different.

    III) I’m going to go out on a limb and speculate that this guy doesn’t have children. You begin to see things in a WHOLE different way when you’re trying to raise a child (properly). Some of the boys in our youth Sunday School class last week were laughing at a joke that wasn’t necessarily bad (I would have chuckled at it several years ago), but I found it disgusting now that my son has changed my whole perspective. People without kids just can’t understand where parents are coming from.

    Reply
  • 3. Michelle Maxwell Gore  |  December 1, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    Anne,
    I guess I am what some might call a “Blog Stalker”. 🙂 I read blogs of many of the people with whom I went to high school or college (or their spouses or families)- mostly without their knowledge, that is until I post. Having said that… here is my announcement of my presence on your blog. I’ve loved reading your posts of your children and your life. In case you do not remember me, we were Freshmen together at MC and I remember you fondly from my Latimer Webb days. I must say I’m pleased to have read this post and agree whole-heartedly with your feelings and your actions. Some people “attack” what they don’t understand. It makes me wonder if there is anything this “dude” cares about so much that he’s willing to die defending it. If someone doesn’t understand that kind of passion and conviction it is easy for them to attack those who have it. And sometimes people just find it easier to attack others convictions rather than eruditely defend their own. Either way, neither is a humanitarian way of dealing with our fellow men and women. I congratulate and applaud you on standing tall and being strong in defense of your beliefs. I also applaud you for not “attacking” back. Greetings from Germany.

    Reply
  • 4. Magdalena Julie Bragdon Perks  |  December 1, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    Anne, remember that “martyr” means “witness” and you got named to be one! God bless you and your family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • RT @Dodgers: HERO. #ThisTeam https://t.co/tUQ3UsJTA3 1 day ago
  • I’ve looked forward to church today since I left the parking lot last Sunday. Grateful for @gccjxn ! 2 days ago
  • Just sitting here, basking in the realization that my kids are too old for the pumpkin patch. I’m thrilled at this development. 6 days ago
  • My whole family wishes they’d send Iris into the speed force on #TheFlash. First episode of season 4 and she’s already making us mad. 6 days ago
  • Paisley: “who’s winning the game?” Michael: “the Cubs are ahead.” P: “they’re beating Walgreens?” That “W” throws her off every time. 1 week ago

