Salsa and Sour Cream

December 11, 2008 at 3:44 am 1 comment

When Michael goes out of town, I don’t eat meals. I snack. It’s my favorite way of consuming food.

He hates the thought of mixing perfectly good salsa with sour cream. It really grosses him out. I love it. So I’m gorging myself on it, without any ridicule from the food purist in the family.

The new wordpress dashboard is awesome. I’m really loving it. The coolest part? The word counter is at the bottom of the screen you write on, so it’s going up as I write. Once again, just like with the sitemeter episode, I feel pressure now. Am I using too many words? Too few? They should really make an “interesting word counter”. That way, I’ll know if I’m adding enough panache to the post. What the heck is panache? I’ve read it, and I pretend like I know what it means. I probably shouldn’t have said that, then you’d never know that I don’t know.

I’m a little jittery tonight. I mean, it’s our first night here without Michael since the Nasty Mouse Invasion of 2008. Luckily, the rain outside is making some pretty good background noise, I don’t think I’d hear little scratchy sounds or whatever. Gosh, just writing that gave me the willies.

I’m becoming a picture flunky. I mean, I’m taking them, downloading them, but pictures on WordPress is my least favorite feature. I really don’t like adding them. I probably don’t know the shortcuts yet.

Also…I’m taking cupcakes to school on Friday for Aidan’s friend. The teacher loved the idea, and another mama is bringing chips. His teacher is bringing drinks, so we should have a good time. I feel better about it.

Tomorrow is the dentist for me. I hate going to the dentist. I have gum issues, and he always just shakes his head and tells me how bad it is, but they can’t do anything to make it better. I guess it’s just something to live with.

I’ve got to find some Christmas spirit somewhere. Michael and I are trying to find a sitter for Saturday so we can go shop all afternoon. I don’t think they sell spirit at Walmart. Between the mice, moving out and back in, getting ready to sell the house, the Christmas music at church, the van getting new tires, the dentist, stomach bugs and everything else, I just haven’t had time to enjoy the season.

I know what Christmas is about. I’ve always known. I think I have my priorities straight. I just have more responsibilities than ever before and I’m feeling really stretched thin. I’m memorizing monologues, studying to teach Sunday school, cooking and buying for the myriad of parties to attend. I haven’t bought one gift for my own children. My days are so full, and we have to spend our afternoons at home because I really think their rest time is crucial to their staying healthy through all of this.

So I’m praying,

Father, Lord, Savior…
Help me find you in this time. Help me know you’re here. Give me the minutes every day to complete what you want me to complete for that day. Help me meet my responsibilities outside my home, but not neglect my relationships inside. I need to be still. I want to worship you and know you better through understanding more about your birth.
God, Thank you so much. Thanks for the fact that if I didn’t buy one gift, we still have more than enough. Thanks that when it’s cold, my kids just sit closer to me. Thanks that Michael is a good steward with our money. Thanks that you sent Jesus. Thank you for that hope. Thanks for the assurance that tomorrow is figured out for me.
Lord, help me find Christmas spirit by filling me with your Holy Spirit. I love you, Jesus.

amen

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My Brain Was On Autopilot Love Don’t Cost a Thing

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. alison ainsworth  |  December 12, 2008 at 2:06 am

    i wish i could help you out saturday night, but we are going to a grown up christmas party and i am really excited. i haven’t seen some of these girls in awhile. i would take your cutie pies anytime, mamie and nolan are going with friends to the floating christmas parade at the rez. hey, i love salsa and sour cream as well. yum, yum….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…


