Love Don’t Cost a Thing

December 16, 2008 at 8:49 pm 2 comments

Well, hello there!

I’ve been thinking about what I could write about that would help me get in the Christmas spirit. I’m just not there yet. I’ve had bits and pieces of the season here and there, but I’m just not in full fledged sing-carols-while-in-Walmart mode.

My dad used to do that. So embarrassing.

Buying gifts stresses me out. I love doing it, and I love the people I buy for, but trying to give just the right thing and not look cheap, or lazy, or thoughtless is hard. It requires time, money, energy, babysitters…all things I do not have an abundance of right now.

Those of you in my family…never fear! I shopped this past weekend, and all is well.

So I have been pondering on things we can give anyone that cost nothing. You all know where this is ultimately heading. Jesus is the greatest gift of all time, and his love is completely free. God’s gift in to us will forever be unmatched by anything else.

So I’ve given the ending away…but we have 10 days till Christmas! For the next 10 days, I’m going to try to think of 10 completely free things we can give people that will make their holiday brighter. I have no idea what I’ll do after today, so feel free to give suggestions!

I have lots of pics to post, and I know you’d rather see those, but deal with it. There, that’s free too!

Day 1. Kind Words

My love language is Words of Affirmation. I love to affirm and to be affirmed. It makes me feel good to give compliments. It makes me feel good to get them! One of my strongest spiritual gifts is Exhortation, and to me, that means proclaiming truth to others. I choose encouragement to be the way that I demonstrate that gift. I think it’s necessary that we say kind things and build each other up at every opportunity.

I have had the great joy of making some friends this year that build me up almost every time we speak. One particular lady goes to my church, and is closer in age to my mama than me. But every time I sing, or speak up in Bible Study, or do anything that gets her attention, she emails me to tell me something good about it. She is a constant source of encouragement for me. I learn from her every time we talk and she just means so much to me. She gives me a gift every time she speaks to me.

Then there is the gift that we have no idea we give. I met a guy about 2 weeks ago that I have seen a lot, but never met. After being introduced, he told me he remembered me from a large group of people and then gave me a compliment that I will probably remember all of my life. He doesn’t know me, and has no reason to think anything about me. He wouldn’t remember my name if I saw him again. But he was kind enough to remember me, and gracious enough to tell me why.

We all know that words hurt. Unintentional words, unspoken words, body language, all of that can be interpreted in many ways and tear down relationships.

So this Christmas, I know that I can give the free gift of encouragement. I can give the gift of well-deserved compliments. So many times, we think nice things. What would it hurt to say them?

Some people are not built up by words. That’s fine, we’re all different. But even if words aren’t “your thing”, you still have the opportunity to makes someone’s day by saying something nice.

Kindness is a fruit of the Spirit. So ultimately, kind words should be a part of a Christian’s regular speech.

So here goes my kind word to all of you that are sweet enough to read this amateur blogger’s posts….Thank you. It really means a lot that you read my blog. It means a lot that you care enough to find out what’s going on around here. I love writing this stuff, even if it’s just drivel sometimes. I love sharing my life with you. You are all encouragements to me, just by showing up. Thanks so much.

Kind words…a free gift that people can keep with them forever. If they have a good memory. But anyway…

I’ll be up tonight trying to think of day 2. Enjoy a wonderful, cold, rainy day of kindness!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Salsa and Sour Cream Day 2: Belly Laughs

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. April  |  December 16, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    I am a sucker for a series. Good idea!

    Reply
  • 2. alison ainsworth  |  December 17, 2008 at 1:14 am

    i wish i could come up with something like this, but if i started i would stress over for the next ten days and i just don’t want to stress over anything.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Cut my hair yesterday. Had a stress dream that I had forgotten today was my wedding and my hair was now too short. It's been a long summer. 2 weeks ago
  • Up at 5 almost every day. Practice 3 hrs/day. Eating right. This has been our summer, and it paid off. So proud of my girls and our team! 3 weeks ago
  • @CoachDavidOrr So proud of every Sunkist swimmer! We love our swim family! Thank you for a great State Meet! 3 weeks ago
  • Last night I learned that Molly swims in her sleep. She hit me in the face with a strong backstroke. She cut time- my sleep time. 3 weeks ago
  • I'm learning that social media allows us to never ask each other how we are. We assume we know. We don't. 1 month ago

