Day 2: Belly Laughs

December 18, 2008 at 5:23 am 3 comments

Actually, the gift is a good joke!

I love laughter. I love to participate in it, I love to hear it, I love to be the cause of it (sometimes.)

My kids are learning how to tell jokes, but most of them go like this:

Aidan: Knock knock!
me: Who’s there?
A: Poo Poo
Me: Poo Poo who?
A: Poo Poo is STINKY!!!

and there you have it, 5 year old humor.

But seriously, or not, laughter is a great gift. It’s good for your body, it’s good for your spirit, and I’ve heard it uses less muscles to smile than to frown, therefore having wrinkle reducing effects!

I want to be one of those people who actually laughs when something is funny, and not just says, “oh, that’s hilarious.” I have a tendency to do that, and where’s the fun in just talking? For crying out loud, laugh!

I love getting tickled. There are some stories that certain people tell that make me laugh so hard I can’t breathe and start to cry and get all wheezy. It’s awesome, and embarrassing at the same time.

The last time I laughed like that was when my dad told me the story of his Aunt Sister’s funeral. Her real name isn’t Sister, that’s just what she was called. Anyhoo…he said she was mean as a snake. Several years ago, she passed away, I think I was in college. He and his sister, my Aunt Peggy, went to the funeral. She was buried in the cemetery in Brookhaven, right next to Brookhaven High School. As they were walking to the graveside, the band was on the field practicing. Dad looked at Aunt Peggy and said, “Hear that? They’re playing Born To Be Wild!” They got tickled, which led to the telling of some other stories…

My very favorite, and there is no way I could tell this in writing like my daddy does in person, is about when he was a kid and they had a cat. This cat had kittens. My dad’s grandmother was a large woman. She was very short and had a hard time getting in and out of the recliner. One day, she fell into the chair, and the kids heard a “mewp” coming from under her rear end.

The poor kitten never saw it coming.

My dad’s brother, Jerry, made a headstone for that cat. It said, and please know that I’m cracking up while typing this, “Here lies Fluffy. Killed by Grandma’s fat a**.”

I hope you’re laughing. I’m sorry if anybody is offended at a kitten squishing, but it happened a long time ago, and it just gets me every time.

Thanks, Dad, for the gift of that story…morbid though it is.

Here are some other jokes that I got online…just in case you need a laugh today…

What’s the difference between chopped beef and pea soup?
Everyone can chop beef, but not everyone can pea soup!

A magician was driving down the road..then he turned into a drive way…

Why don’t aliens eat clowns.
Because they taste funny.

What do you call a fish with no eyes?
A fsh

Two snowmen are standing in a field. One says to the other : “Funny, I smell carrots too”.

What do you get when you cross an elephant and a rhino?
el-if-i-no

Two peanuts walk into a bar.
One was a salted.

Once upon a time there were two muffins in the microwave. Suddenly, on of the muffins says:
“Man it’s hot in here!!!!”
The other muffin exclaims,
“Look a talking muffin!!!!”

I know, I know, those are completely corny, but maybe you smiled, just a bit? Gosh, I hope so.

Anyway…if something is called “the best medicine”, who wouldn’t want some of that?!

Find something funny and laugh about it, then share it with someone. It costs you nothing, and you’ll feel better when you do!

And if you snort and make someone else laugh, then good for you!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Love Don’t Cost a Thing Day 3: Understanding

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  December 19, 2008 at 12:09 am

    The cat story was hilarious!! I think I’m going to ask your dad to tell it at Mamaw’s! As Tyler says, “That cracks me out!”

    Reply
  • 2. carriemclean  |  December 19, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    thanks. i needed a laugh! the muffin one made me laugh out loud. my kids think i’m crazy right now. (what am i saying? they always thought i was nuts.)

    Reply
  • 3. Jennifer  |  December 22, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    OK. I’m definitely laughing. Thanks for the laughs today!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…


