Application

December 23, 2008 at 4:19 am 1 comment

So…I’ve been doing the free gifts series. My first series…awww.

The thing is, the more I write, the more I’m challenged to do these things I so confidently state that we should do.

Today alone…I’ve been required to be kind. To be understanding (this was a big stretch for me). I’ve laughed with friends. I’ve had to put others first, namely my kids, which sometimes is hard for me, because they’re so demanding anyway. The only thing I haven’t needed or given is free babysitting, hold on, actually…Michael’s mom came over, I went to Walmart. There you go.

So…I’m learning that God is working on me through this little series of blabber. I think he wants me to put my money where my mouth is.

Here’s a dose of some of the humor the kids have given to me…

Molly: Why don’t we have gifts under the tree? Everyone else does!
Michael: Because we know you’ll tear them up.
Molly: I promise I won’t touch them.
Michael: What about you, Aidan?
Aidan: Dad, I just can’t say what I would do. I’m not making promises.

The kid is honest to a fault. He can’t just look like me, he has to BE just like me too!

Oh, and here’s another gift…free from me:
Chocolate Chip Pecan Pie (Michael’s favorite ever)

2 sticks butter, melted
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 cup pecans
1 cup milk chocolate chips

beat eggs till foamy (I use my stand mixer, and it’s so easy-breezy). Add flour and sugars. Add melted butter and continue mixing till creamy. Stir in pecans and  chocolate. Pour in unbaked pie shell and bake for 1 hour at 325 degrees.

It tastes like a big chocolate chip cookie with pecans. Yummy.

But as far as day 6 goes, the gift for today is a big, old, squishy bear hug.

I don’t have to explain the merits of hugs, or any affectionate touch. We are  created with a need to be touched. My kids count on me to hug them throughout the day. Michael knows I love him when I just pat him on the back. To him, that says more than words.

So I’ve had to give gifts today. I’ve also received quite a few.

It’s interesting…when I start viewing these little things as gifts, I begin to realize how completely blessed I am. I receive a great number of gifts daily. That means the people I love are a gift to me, just by being who they are.

Tomorrow night is Christmas at my grandparents’ house. I love it. It’s 25 or so people crammed in a living room with the thermostat on a cool 82 degrees. Most of the younger generation wears shorts and tshirts and we exchange dirty santa gifts. Last year I got a great little fake hair thing.

I just had a wonderful idea about what to wear tomorrow night.

So let’s get these holidays crankin’.

Mucho love-o.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Day 5&6…You Are Always On My Mind So My Heart Grew 3 Sizes Bigger That Day…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer  |  December 23, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    I so remember how “cool” it was in your grandparents house! It made me giggle just to think about all the memories I have there with you! Tell them I said hey and I hope you guys have a great Christmas there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • RT @Dodgers: HERO. #ThisTeam https://t.co/tUQ3UsJTA3 22 hours ago
  • I’ve looked forward to church today since I left the parking lot last Sunday. Grateful for @gccjxn ! 1 day ago
  • Just sitting here, basking in the realization that my kids are too old for the pumpkin patch. I’m thrilled at this development. 5 days ago
  • My whole family wishes they’d send Iris into the speed force on #TheFlash. First episode of season 4 and she’s already making us mad. 6 days ago
  • Paisley: “who’s winning the game?” Michael: “the Cubs are ahead.” P: “they’re beating Walgreens?” That “W” throws her off every time. 1 week ago

