Reminiscing and Resoluting

January 2, 2009 at 5:53 am 2 comments

I know Resoluting is not a word. But it’s more fun to say than Resolving, which is what I think I mean. 

2008 was a great year for our family. I’m trying to think of a way to avoid a top ten list, but I just don’t think I can do it. Hey…what if I do a top 11 list? How original! 

11. Starting the blog. I now have a reference point for finding out what happened to me in the past. I have loved telling the funny stuff the kids do, sharing pictures, and writing about whatever comes to mind. I toyed with a myspace blog years ago, but that just didn’t go over well and I was so scared of saying something I would regret that I vowed not to blog anymore. I still worry about what I say, but I heavily edit and rewrite, which has been a good experience for me. Nobody has shown any hate, so we’ll keep doing it until I feel like God wants me to spend my time elsewhere. 

10. Dance Recital and Baseball. Molly’s recital was one of my favorite things this year. She was so cute in her purple tutu, and did a spectacular job. The drive was long for such a short practice, so we took this year off. I hope she’ll start dancing or doing gymnastics very soon. Aidan played his first season of baseball this fall. He made me so proud. He loved hanging out with the other boys and really did a good job trying his best. 

9. Joining FBC Madison. I don’t know that I’ve ever really written about this. I mean, we moved our membership…that’s simple enough. But the prayer journey to get there was arduous. We loved Pinelake. We were very active there and signed up for anything and everything. But the drive was long and because we don’t live in the area of the church, we felt disconnected. Our kids had no friends there. It became more and more difficult to be the church members we wanted to be. So we enrolled the kids in choir and other kid stuff at FBC. Over time, we joined a Sunday School class. Our children were being taught by wonderful people and loved on. We were given opportunities to serve. Then when the church called Ronnie to be the pastor, the decision to plant our life there was made. We’re growing, serving and having a lot of fun with some of the best people we’ve ever known. 

8. Deciding that Paisley would stay the youngest child. Michael and I prayed about this a long time. Basically, I didn’t want to be pregnant again and we knew a fourth child would be wonderful, but a lot of added stress. So we felt like we should keep it at three. 

7. The older kids learned to read! This is a big one for me. I’m an avid reader, and Michael and I both spend our free time buried in books. We have read to the kids since they were in the womb. Aidan started picking up words last year, but this year he just has really gotten the hang of sounding out words. He has read a few level 2 books with 2 and 3 syllable words. Molly is right behind him, reading small words and then picking up on sounding out longer ones. It’s amazing to see their minds work. I’m so proud of them! 

6. Birthday parties and sock rockets. Aidan and Molly both had their parties at our church gym. At both parties, the kids made sock rockets, a tube sock filled with a cup of rice and tied. You swing them around, then throw. Both times were a hit! I loved giving their parties this year. We had a lot of homemade fun, and if you ask me, that’s the best kind! 

5. Nashville. Michael had to go to a training in Nashville in June. It worked out for the kids to stay with grandparents and we could go by ourselves. The hotel was beautiful, the food was great, and we had a wonderful time. Normally, I’m a go-go-go person on trips, but this time, since Michael was busy all day, I spent a lot of time reading by the pool and sleeping. I needed the break so badly, and I’m praying another conference will come along soon!

4. Taking Aidan and Molly to New Orleans. Oh, we had a blast. The zoo was wonderful. The children’s museum was great. We laughed a lot. I’m so glad we took the time for this trip. 

3. My grandparents. They are so special to me. Their health has not been good this year. I’ve prayed and prayed for them. I pray that 2009 will be  a healthier year for them and that they can get the assistance they need. I also am so thankful now for every year that I still have them. 

2. The music. I feel like God gave me several opportunities to stretch myself this year. I’ve sung most of my life, but this year I’ve been asked to sing things that were harder and higher than I’ve ever done outside of college voice lessons (which I stunk at). I have also always struggled with nerves. Self-consciousness and insecurity led to many, many bouts of nausea and jitters. Through the course of this year, that has diminished a lot. It’s not gone, but I don’t feel like I’m going to pass out when I hold a microphone. By no means do I think I have any kind of super-special ability, I’m just really thankful that God has given me the chances to worship in the way that I love. I pray that maybe somebody is blessed by it. Oh, and singing with Randy Robertson was quite possibly the musical highlight of my decade…but that’s neither here nor there. 

1. Nail Patella Syndrome. In February, Aidan and I visited a pediatric geneticist. He looked at our arms, knees, thumbnails and talked to us a long time. Then he left the room and came back with a packet of information telling me that we have (and possibly Molly, too) Nail Patella Syndrome. Aidan and I have some “special” characteristics that I’ve lived with all my life and never understood, and he still hasn’t realized he has (thank goodness!). Our contracted elbows, weird looking thumbnails and other stuff are all part of this syndrome that was not written about until 2003, which was after he was born. I saw a geneticist when I was pregnant with him who didn’t mention this syndrome because it was 2002, and nobody had published anything yet. So God’s timing was impeccable, as usual. If I had known what I know now about the syndrome, I quite possibly might have been too afraid to have kids. I have a very mild case of it, and Aidan and Molly, even milder. But I would have been afraid of the risk. So now I have 3 beautiful, healthy children who are the lights of my life, and when they get old enough to realize the differences in their structures, I’ll have the answers for them. I wanted to know for 30 years what was “wrong” with me. It turns out to be another way that God has made me special and perfect for reaching out to others. 

I have some resolutions, but I haven’t figured out exactly what I think I’ll actually do, so I’ll tell you later. 

Tonight I continued a mass cleanout of our closet. I’m throwing out pictures and mementos that I’ve just held on to too long. I found movie ticket stubs from EVERY movie Michael and I went to. Why on earth did we pay to see Dr. Doolittle? Or The Waterboy? I also found all the postcards my friends Hannah and Amanda sent me from their semester in London. I found a picture of me from a Disciple Now that I will just HAVE to scan and post. The hair…oh gosh, the hair. Apparently, now that I’m looking back on pictures of me in groups of people, I have always walked to my own beat. I don’t think I realized it at the time. Cool.

So the reminiscing has been rampant in this house today. We’re hoping after the weekend, we’ll be moving forward…out with the old. But today I threw away a collection of shopping bags I gathered from every trip I’ve been on for 20 years. It was time to get rid of them, but it hurt to do so. And in the box of bags, I found an Amy Grant poster from her concert 20 years ago this year. I was 12. I got a backstage pass and got her autograph along with Gary Chapman’s. Yeah, I’m keeping that one. It’s turning yellow…I probably should laminate it or something. 

Hope your day was happy, and your year is full of God’s best.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Let’s Just See Here if This Thingamajig Can Post Purty Pictures… If I Write it Down…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hannah  |  January 2, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    i cannot believe you still have those postcards! i went through a similar cleanout/purge the closet session after we moved and found some pretty random stuff. but nothing as cool as a poster and autograph from amy g’s classic era. 😉 i like your top 11….your life is full of good happy things. AND a macbook to top it all off! yowie, that’s a good year.

    Reply
  • 2. Angela  |  January 2, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    Hi, I also have NPS. I’m sure you are still sifting through all the information that is out there. It is such a little-known condition. However, it has been written about extensively. A lot before 2003. If you didn’t know you had it, it is not at all your fault that you didn’t know about the literature. There are a number of great groups- just google it. Also John Hopkins is doing ongoing genetic research. I don’t mean to scare you or be inflammatory- I only came across your site because I have a google search that alerts me to any mention of the condition because I am still researching it although I have known my whole life that I have NPS- but my personal experience was that I had no real problems until I hit pre-pubescence. I am now dealing with some very serious pain and disability issues. I just hope that you get all the information- most doctors do not actually know much about the condition so you will need to do a lot yourself. That way you can stay on top of this in case anything more serious ever develops, like kidney involvement. Feel free to contact me if you have an questions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


