Santa Knew What He Was Doing

January 8, 2009 at 8:10 pm Leave a comment

One of the things my kids received on Christmas morning was a book. Along with a couple of DVDs, some great games (worthy of a whole post by themselves) and the toys and clothes that were for each of them was The Big Picture Bible Story Book. 

This was the best thing Santa brought, if I do say so myself. 

So I’m going to give you a quick review, if you don’t mind. Of course you don’t…you’re just sitting there at work or at home, reading blogs to avoid doing dishes or work or whatever. You’ll read anything. 

I know, because I’m one of you.

This book is incredible. It’s over 200 pages, and we’ve already finished it. My kids (the older two), were completely taken with it. It’s a Bible story book, but written in order, with one main point…God made a promise to Adam and Eve and he fulfilled it with Jesus. But the whole book talks about promises God made his children and how he kept them. It reinforces over and over that God’s people, when they follow God’s word, get to live in God’s place. Ultimately, Jesus is God’s place, given to us with the choice to become God’s people. 

The story leaves out the details of stories that are common in other children’s Bible books. It tells about how the children of Israel came to Egypt after Joseph’s father and brothers found him again. Then it tells how God used Moses to convince Pharoah to let them go. Then the children of Israel disobey again and have to wander in the wilderness. There is a constant theme of obeying God and following his Word, and then consequences for disobedience, then forgiveness. 

The book has a deeper message than any other kids’ book I’ve read to them, yet my 4 and almost 6 year old understood it to the best of their ability. We’ve already started reading it again. They ask questions by the droves. I’ve had to explain Passover and sacrifices to them. They are a bit young to fully get it, but I’m just so glad they’re asking! 

Anyway, I highly recommend the book. If you want your child to get a deeper grip on the fact that the Bible is true, and it has a point, and is not just a collection of stories, then this is a wonderful book for your child

On the completely superficial other hand…I’m loving how this month is turning out…but I think I need new outfits. I mean, I can’t go to the BP concert in my OLD clothes!? The very idea! (please note that I’m perfectly happy with my clothes and will most likely wear something that has been in my closet at least 2 years…I’m just dreaming here). 

Gap has a sale going on. I think I need this. Or this. Or maybe this.  I’m aware that these are all girly dresses…and not suitable for a country concert at the New Orleans Arena…but since I haven’t found the jeans I love yet, and don’t have the body to wear them, I’ll have to go with a dress. Again, in my dreams…I just got a Macbook. I figured I’ll have to ask for clothes when I turn 33…in 2010! 

Let’s see…I reviewed a great book for kids, and then got all materialistic and lusted over the sale rack at the Gap…my work here is done.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Cloud Nine! Double the 16, Lose the “Sweet”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Cut my hair yesterday. Had a stress dream that I had forgotten today was my wedding and my hair was now too short. It's been a long summer. 2 weeks ago
  • Up at 5 almost every day. Practice 3 hrs/day. Eating right. This has been our summer, and it paid off. So proud of my girls and our team! 3 weeks ago
  • @CoachDavidOrr So proud of every Sunkist swimmer! We love our swim family! Thank you for a great State Meet! 3 weeks ago
  • Last night I learned that Molly swims in her sleep. She hit me in the face with a strong backstroke. She cut time- my sleep time. 3 weeks ago
  • I'm learning that social media allows us to never ask each other how we are. We assume we know. We don't. 1 month ago

