I’m Not Making This Stuff Up, Y’all.

January 13, 2009 at 8:42 pm Leave a comment

I went to Bible Study this morning. 

For the most part, I have issues with groups of women. I tend to feel more comfortable in a mixed gender crowd. Women can be so, I don’t know…girly.

I’m not insecure, but I have insecurities. Does that make sense? And being around women makes me realize that I have them, and that makes me nervous, then I talk too much, and try to hard, and before you know it…I leave wishing I had never shown up. 

So I avoid women’s Bible studies. Like the plague. 

Until recently. 

I’ve been going to the precept class our church offers on Tuesday mornings. For the most part, it’s been good. I’ve gotten to know people I would never have had a chance to meet. It’s all ages and races and shapes and sizes. And the teacher is wonderful. 

And I’m not one to ever turn down free childcare. 

So…the last 2 studies were okay for me. I mean, I got a lot out of the video, but the discussion in class left me feeling like maybe, once again, I needed to avoid groups of females. But today, I decided to give it one more go. 

And I’ve never in my life been more glad that I did. 

The study is called Anointed, Transformed, Redeemed. It’s by Priscilla Shirer, Beth Moore, and Kay Arthur. It’s about David. 

I won’t get into all that I thought about today, I just wanted to tell you this. (and it took me a whole lot of writing to get to this point…sorry.)

When we become a Christian, which means when we ask Jesus to come into our heart and take control of our life, we are filled with the Holy Spirit. The HS is part of the trinity, which I knew, but never really gave it as much credit as God and Jesus. But it hit me today that the HS has all of the characteristics of God, because it IS God. So, we are filled with all of the power of God. We have everything we need to become everything he wants us to be. 

So why do I go through times where I feel unworthy, incapable, defeated, or just plain stupid? Because opposition is inevitable when the Holy Spirit fills your life. Opposition from our enemy, the devil. The father of lies wants us to feel that way, and believe we are less than who God says we are. 

I have a tendency, and I think everyone does, to let things really get to me. I make up scenarios in my head that are much more dramatic than reality, and I think that’s what’s going on around me. When the Holy Spirit in in me, I have God’s power in me to defeat that, and believe what is true, and rise above the pettiness and foolishness of this world. As a believer, we all do! 

So why would I choose any other way? I could have the peace that comes with power, or I could have the stress I bring on myself. 

Today, Priscilla (on the DVD) was naming many wonderful characteristics of God. Healer, comforter, unexplainable, unchangeable, undefeatable, and so many more. It hit me that I’ve only truly experienced the tip of the iceberg of all that. And that’s sad, because I’ve had the Holy Spirit in my life since I was 6 years old! How much more I could know and experience, but have chosen to be defeated by the things of the world! 

I know I talk about spiritual stuff a lot. But y’all, when the power of God is available to us, when it’s IN us…how can I keep quiet about that? 

I’m overwhelmed and challenged today. I want to know more of this power and the peace it brings. I want my confidence to be in who God says I am. It’s real. It’s amazing. 

And I want more of it. 

 

**and now I have to add one more thing. My husband is the sweetest guy ever. Thanks bud, for that last post. You see me how I would want to be seen, and that means that maybe that’s who I am, because you see the real deal. And if that’s who I am, then I can like that person. Thanks for helping me feel better about being me. It was an awesome birthday…with more to come. I love it!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

“And this is just the beginning….” by Michael Better Than This

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


