Better Than This

January 21, 2009 at 4:37 am 1 comment

There’s this song, on Brad Paisley’s 5th Gear cd , that just cracks me up. Here’s the words:

That sleepy little campfire poppin kinda craklin 
We were heatin up th pork and beans 
Bubba said man it don’t get any better than this 
If you know what I mean
We sat there for a minute listenin to the crickets 
Thinkin this is pretty hard to beat 
Til Jr stood up spit in the fire 
Said boys I hate to disagree 

But if a bus load of women, really good looking women,
Just suddenly pulled in here 
Old Joe T. Garcia showed up with fajitas and a 100 gallon keg of beer and Haggard dropped by
And brought Willie with him
And they started takin requests 
Well don’t get me wrong boys this is pretty good
But it could get better than this

Bill Dance and Hank Parker floated by in a boat 
And volunteered to be our fishin guides 
And Richard Petty pulled up in the old ’43 car 
And asked us if we wanted a ride 
We’d all sit around singin Poncho and
Lefty playing poker and smoking big cigars 
Now don’t take offense y’all, I’m perfectly content 
Just sittin here under the stars

And it goes on and repeats a few times. Anyway…I can think of quite a few things that would be much better than the redneck fun mentioned in the song…I don’t think anything could be better than this past Saturday night. 

I’m a big, huge proponent of having the time of your life. Now that I have kids, we all have a lot of fun as a family, but the times where I get to do what I truly enjoy, on my own schedule and with the best companion on this earth are few and far between. 

Saturday night was probably the best of all those times put together. We went to New Orleans to see Brad Paisley, Dierks Bentley and Darius Rucker (you know who he is, Hootie and the Blowfish lead singer…gone country!) We spent the afternoon shopping at the Lakeside Mall, which is still just as loud and crowded as it was when we lived there 6 years ago. But I got a dress for $11 and a shirt for $11, so it was a huge success in my book. 

Then we checked into our hotel. The Le Pavillion. It’s right smack downtown, and it’s 100 years old. We ate there with my bosses for secretary’s day back in 2000, and it’s super frilly. It’s very ornate and has lots of gold and heavy brocade. Get the idea? Michael and I are just not frilly people, but we enjoyed being there. We got to our room, after walking down a long hall filled with paintings of creepy people. The room was relatively small, but I think all old hotels have small rooms. It was well furnished and really pretty. I opened the closet and there they were: two white terry cloth robes with the big crest on the pocket. We immediately put them on and pretended like we were rich and famous. We are so neither!

My favorite thing was the drawn bath menu. For $85 you can have them come run your bathwater in a tub that is barely big enough for one person, and then throw a bunch of rose petals in there and give you some strawberries. Doesn’t that sound like a great deal?? Needless to say, we made fun of the drawn bath menu all evening. 

We got ready and walked over to the New Orleans Arena. Let me insert this bit of free information: That was a great place to see a concert. I’ve never experienced security that well done. They scanned our tickets 3 times before they let us to the door to go in on the floor and then put bracelets on us which they checked twice before we got to our seats. It was a very secure event. If stuff like that matters to you, then this is a great place to go see a show. 

We found our seats. They were 2, yes 2, seats away from the end of the catwalk. I was so excited. This was the view from my seat:

0117091909

Darius Rucker was wonderful. So funny and you just have to love that voice. Dierks Bentley was great, too. I don’t love his songs, but he’s a wonderful entertainer. He touched everybody’s hands (including mine!) and drank any beer that was offered to him (which I find really gross, but maybe he has a great immune system…I mean, he drank after a LOT of people!) 

Then it happened. I was trying to get the attention of some stage guys that were at the end of the catwalk. I wanted them to give me a guitar pick, because I promised my friend Randy I’d try to get one for him. They ignored me, then the lights went out. Brad appeared at the top of the stage, singing “Mud on the Tires”. I joined in the cheering and dancing. Michael saw two other stage guys run out on the catwalk. The first two guys ran off, and then one of the other ones ran off, and then the last guy stood up, 5 feet from my head, put his hat on, picked up a guitar and started singing. When I realized that he was standing by me, and what was on the stage was a video, I went nuts. Michael’s words were, “I’ve never seen you act like that in my life!” It was pretty awesome. 

0117092118a

This was right after we saw him, still during the first song. He was walking back toward the stage. 

The show was incredible. I was so impressed by his guitar playing. I loved watching how they threw microphones to one another and never missed a beat. I loved the video animation that was used. I loved how he worked the crowd, but never made eye contact with the people because he was so focused on the music. It was clear he was working very hard to make sure you got your money’s worth. I was really, and I know this sounds weird, proud to be there. He’s a great musician. He’s a great songwriter. I’m incredibly impressed by all that he can do, from playing guitar to drawing cartoons. He’s funny, honest and talented. 

*I must insert that my husband just asked me what I’m doing. I told him I was writing about the concert, and he asked me, “what kind of American are you? you’re not blogging on the inauguration?” no. I didn’t watch it, so I have no thoughts. Sorry.

Anyway, the last thing I’ll tell you is that at one point, the girl next to me, who was so much fun, dared me to touch the leg of his jeans. I thought that might be a little obsessive and maybe just a little bit crazy, but then I figured, “hey, if I can, then I will!”

0117092236

Not a great pic, but you can see my hand touching his jeans. Yeah, I did it. I’m so not ashamed to be a fan.

Here are some other pictures from the night…

0117091935

This is Darius Rucker. I’m not zooming on any of these. He was sitting right behind us on the end of the catwalk. 

0117092121a

Okay…I’m aware of my complete dorkiness in this picture. But I was really pretty much like this all night. I don’t think Michael could have captured a different expression on my face if he tried. 

0117092126

This is my favorite. For a camera phone, that’s not too bad. And again, he was really this close. Oh, and he was singing, “Waiting on a Woman” here, which is my all time favorite song. 

0117091910

This is before it all started, after we got to our seats. 

We got some great video too, but it saved in a format on my phone that isn’t recognized in imovie, so I can’t post it right now. 

Anyway, thanks for hanging in there on this post. Oh, when we got back to the hotel, we were hungry, so we ordered a room service pizza, put on our rich and famous robes and watched reruns of Deal or No Deal. A perfect end to a perfect day!

Reliving all of this on the blog is totally reminding me that I’m so much cooler online. (That’s a BP song, for all of you non-fans)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I’m Not Making This Stuff Up, Y’all. How Old is Elmo’s goldfish, Dorothy?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Steve Wilson  |  January 21, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    Dear Anne,

    Jane discovered your blog and shared it with me. We love it. The picture of you in all your glorious dorkiness is your Dad made over. I have seen that expression on his face a hundred times over everything from a new insight from God to fresh DQ french fries. Keep up the good work. I see a book in your future.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Cut my hair yesterday. Had a stress dream that I had forgotten today was my wedding and my hair was now too short. It's been a long summer. 3 weeks ago
  • Up at 5 almost every day. Practice 3 hrs/day. Eating right. This has been our summer, and it paid off. So proud of my girls and our team! 3 weeks ago
  • @CoachDavidOrr So proud of every Sunkist swimmer! We love our swim family! Thank you for a great State Meet! 3 weeks ago
  • Last night I learned that Molly swims in her sleep. She hit me in the face with a strong backstroke. She cut time- my sleep time. 4 weeks ago
  • I'm learning that social media allows us to never ask each other how we are. We assume we know. We don't. 1 month ago

