And the Birds Sang a Happy Tune in the Background…

January 27, 2009 at 4:27 am 6 comments

I’m telling you what happened this morning only because when I told my friend Jennifer about it on the phone, she laughed and said that we live in a Disney movie. 

And since everybody needs a little Disney in their day, here you go…

I had the joy and privilege of taking the kids to school today. Michael actually wanted to get to his job on time, so I got stuck with the last minute get-ready chaos. 

Molly decided she needed a “small jacket”, because “it’s not THAT cold, just a little bit cold!” (this is a direct quote). Aidan had on a maroon hoodie. Of course he did, he would wear it every day if I would let him. Anyway, he remembered that he had another maroon hoodie in his closet from last year. Molly put it on, and what do you know? Perfect fit. They were both so excited. They were dressed like twins and it just made their day.

I was so tickled at them that I almost called my brother, John Mark, to see what he was wearing today so I could match, hoping to share in some of the joy that only matching outfits can bring. But then I remembered that JM probably had on a blue button down shirt, khakis and a black sweater. I know this because last week he told me he was wearing the same clothes over and over to help save the environment. But that’s neither here nor there, and my blue button down isn’t ironed .

I hope my mom’s laughing at this point. 

So Aidan got really excited that Molly was dressed like him, and he wanted to help her put on the jacket. He was a bit overzealous with the zipper and it snagged her chin. Of course, Molly let out a wail. For such a quiet kid, her cry is L-O-U-D. Aidan looked at me and he teared up and said, “mama, it was an accident. I didn’t mean to hurt my sister!” He was truly upset that she was crying. I told him it was fine, that she wasn’t mad and accidents happen. Molly said, “I fuhgive you, Bubboo” (her name for him). Anyway, it was just a real after-school special moment, but it was before school. 

Then, the kids put on their backpacks. Paisley wanted one, too. Aidan, still in helper mode, said, “I’ll get it!” and ran to the stairs. He tripped on the first step, rammed his shin into the step and fell down. Huge tears and wails louder than even Molly came out of that skinny body. He climbed up on my lap and declared today a wash. He said it was just a really bad day and he didn’t even want to have anymore of it. 

We went outside, just Aidan and me. I opened the van and tried to explain to him that a couple of bad things happened, but the whole day wasn’t going down the toilet. I told him that the Bible says that “This is the day that God made, and we will rejoice and be glad!” I told him that if God makes a day, then it’s a good day, just because he loves us so much to give us a new start every morning. He thought about that and agreed. The eyes and nose dried up, we hugged, the background music from “Full House” started up, and we were on our way. 

In the van, Aidan told Molly what the Bible says about the day God made. Molly said, “hey! I know that song!” and proceeded to sing the little song we all know…”this is the day, this is the day, that the Lord has made, that the Lord has made…”

Aidan sat back and said, “you know Molly, that made me feel a lot better. Thanks.”

Molly said, “sure, Bubboo. I’m glad you feel better.”

We got to school after a rowdy, raucous rant about words that start with R (Molly’s letter of the week). As Aidan got out of the van, he told me “I’m gonna make it a great day, mom!” Then Molly grabbed Paisley’s cheeks and said, “This is God’s day, Paiz! Be Glad!!” 

Again, more background music. 

Say what you want to about me overprotecting my kids. Go ahead, say we live in a bubble. But this morning was typical for us. Weird to the world, I’m sure. But I’m okay with that. The sweetness of their growing faith is a challenge to me to continue strengthening mine, and a blessing, all at the same time.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

How Old is Elmo’s goldfish, Dorothy? Engaging the Filter

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  January 27, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    That is a wonderful Disney movie! I love it and would watch it everyday!

    Reply
  • 2. Michelle Maxwell Gore  |  January 27, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    Such a beautiful description and scene. I love it. And your children do not begin to know how lucky they are to have you as their mother. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Jennifer  |  January 27, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    I laughed even harder reading about it than hearing you tell about it! I love my “Disney Family” Friend!

    Reply
  • 4. Hannah  |  January 28, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    yeah, yeah, that’s what i was doing in college with my MWF shirt — saving the environment! tell jm that’s genius.

    Reply
  • 5. carriemclean  |  January 29, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    that is wonderful! i’m going to make this a great day too! i wish i lived in a musical.

    Reply
  • 6. Melanie  |  January 29, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    Oh so precious!! This has reminded me that I need to embrace my child like faith that adulthood seems to shatter!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • RT @Dodgers: HERO. #ThisTeam https://t.co/tUQ3UsJTA3 22 hours ago
  • I’ve looked forward to church today since I left the parking lot last Sunday. Grateful for @gccjxn ! 1 day ago
  • Just sitting here, basking in the realization that my kids are too old for the pumpkin patch. I’m thrilled at this development. 5 days ago
  • My whole family wishes they’d send Iris into the speed force on #TheFlash. First episode of season 4 and she’s already making us mad. 6 days ago
  • Paisley: “who’s winning the game?” Michael: “the Cubs are ahead.” P: “they’re beating Walgreens?” That “W” throws her off every time. 1 week ago

