The Best Policy…and Other Stuff

February 4, 2009 at 8:47 pm 1 comment

First of all…Molly came home from school today and I asked her if anything special happened. She said she stood up in chapel and said the 10 commandments. In front of everybody. 

We’ve never been over the 10 commandments. Apparently, I’ve not given her school enough credit, or she has some sort of weird Biblical knowledge storage in her brain. I’m going with the school idea. They’re awesome. 

But then I asked her to say them to me and she said, “mom, I know them all, but right now I have to fight Aidan.” She grabbed a lightsaber and was off. 

What about “Thou shalt not kill?” 

And in other news…Paisley curled up on my chest today and fell asleep. For no reason. It wasn’t even naptime. I had to wake her up, so she’d sleep later, but I didn’t want to. It felt wonderful to hold my little blond angel. (That’s about as mushy as I’ll ever get about her. She’s a regular tornado when she’s awake!)

I have to go get my makeup on while they’re asleep if I want to eat with other people at church tonight. Otherwise, I’ll be at a table, all alone, in my bare-faced homeliness. 

But I have to say this. I have gotten several emails and messages from people commenting on my honesty on the blog. I appreciate so much that you like it. I am grateful that it doesn’t turn you away from being my friend. 

Because I can’t help it. I’ve always been a straight shooter. Even to a fault. 

But in the end, no matter how much headache or heartache my honesty has caused, I’m convinced that it’s always the best policy. 

I don’t have the energy or the time to try to be someone else, or say things that are not really what I think. Oh my word, I’d get so confused, trying to keep up with what I said to whom, and how I’m supposed to act in different crowds. That just makes me tired thinking about it! 

So what you see is what you get. And I’m glad you’re cool with that. Good. Now let’s get on to more important things…like this: 

My kids LOVE YouTube. They love the old Electric Company. We watch videos from the EC all the time…and this is just my very favorite. Rita Moreno and Morgan Freeman are my personal entertainment dream team. 

Wasn’t that great? I knew you’d like it. 

Time to go spackle on the face paint. I got this new mascara in the mail (from a Lucky Magazine sweepstakes…I won!) and it’s called Colossal Lashes. By Maybelline. I feel like my eyelashes should each look like little Greek-style columns. It makes me laugh every time I use it. 

Michael said, “Colossal sounds better than Mammoth!”

Mammoth Lashes…now there’s a visual.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Engaging the Filter I’ve Fallen, and I Can’t Get Up.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  February 5, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    did you know that a new Electric company just started on PBS about 2 weeks ago? you can find it on your local station by checking online…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Cut my hair yesterday. Had a stress dream that I had forgotten today was my wedding and my hair was now too short. It's been a long summer. 2 weeks ago
  • Up at 5 almost every day. Practice 3 hrs/day. Eating right. This has been our summer, and it paid off. So proud of my girls and our team! 3 weeks ago
  • @CoachDavidOrr So proud of every Sunkist swimmer! We love our swim family! Thank you for a great State Meet! 3 weeks ago
  • Last night I learned that Molly swims in her sleep. She hit me in the face with a strong backstroke. She cut time- my sleep time. 3 weeks ago
  • I'm learning that social media allows us to never ask each other how we are. We assume we know. We don't. 1 month ago

