Cover Girl

March 5, 2009 at 9:31 pm 1 comment

First of all, I have grown to like my little header with the way out of date picture of me and the husband. It reminds me of a simpler time. It also reminds me that about 10 minutes after that picture was taken, we got a parking ticket. That was fun. 

I know you are all (all 3 of you) anxious for me to replace the picture of the bomb with something new and a little bit prettier. Since the kids aren’t on the header, and I haven’t taken posted any pictures lately, here’s a recent one that will remind you what they look like:

100_6194Last weekend, Michael taught Molly how to shoot a gun. I’m still deciding how I feel about this. 

100_6190This kid, on the other hand, is almost 6. And male. I’m not sexist at all, but I just think I prefer a 6 year old boy with a gun rather than a 4 year old girl. 

However, Molly’s probably a heck of a lot steadier. 

100_6195And this is the “happy cheese face”. No one can resist it. She could bring unity to our nation’s leaders with this face. She could solve the economic crisis. She could eliminate the performance drug problem in our professional sports teams. She could…

Maybe not, but she makes her mama happy! 

So there they are: the loves of my life. The thieves of my time. The makers of the messes. The reasons I rant. The source of my silliness (not really, I got that from my dad). 

Now the reason I sat down here anyway…

Michael and I had a conversation last night while washing dishes. We were trying to name songs that we would cover if we did a whole album of songs other people sing better. I thought it sounded like a fun thing to blog about. I’m still working on my list, but here’s what we came up with last night:

1. Operator, by Jim Croce. I love the melody to this song. It’s probably one of the best songs ever, in my opinion.

2. Where You Lead, by Carole King. “If you wanna live in New York City, then honey you know I will…” I love it. 

3. Every Morning, by Keb Mo. I love Keb Mo. This song was on the first time Michael cooked for me in his apartment. I think about canned peas and Chicken Tonight when I hear it. 

4. She Came From Fort Worth, by Kathy Mattea. I love her voice, and this song is great. I’m not sure I’d connect with lyrics about a waitress who meets a man then moves in with him just because her dreams were too big for Texas, but I’d like singing the song! 

5. You Needed Me, by Anne Murray. This is such an easy-listening song, and can be cheesy. It would be my goal to make it really sensitive and raw. I love the words. 

6. Go To Sleep Little Baby, from the O Brother, Where Art Thou soundtrack. This song is so great, and it’s the part where the dude turns into a toad, or so they think. I love it. 

7. Harvest Moon, by Neil Young. I asked Michael if I’d be stupid to try to sing that song, and he said I’d be stupid NOT to sing it. I don’t think we have “a song”, but this one would be the closest to “our song” if we had one. 

8. I Was Country, When Country Wasn’t Cool, By Barbara Mandrell. 

9. There’s A Place In The World For a Gambler, by Dan Fogelberg. I’m not sure where that place is, but the song makes me want to sway with a lighter held high in my hand. 

10. The Rainbow Connection, as a duet with my brother playing banjo. We tried this on Saturday, and it has potential. It will never be a cool song, but it may make people happy. 

11. Remember When, by Alan Jackson. My mom loves this song, and I’d sing it for her, with my brother, of course. 

So this was fun. I’ll never record any of these, but it’s fun to dream about. For now, my poor family will just have to hear me butcher them while I cook dinner. Bless their hearts.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Da Bomb The A-Man

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. April  |  March 6, 2009 at 4:53 am

    Remember When is one of my favorite songs and will always be…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Listening to a 90's Country playlist. My son is bewildered by "Prop Me Up Beside the Jukebox When I Die." Me too, dude. Me too. 1 day ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace frees you from fear of the future because it tells you wherever you go whatever you do, your Savior will… 4 days ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace meets you with hope in the present because it guarantees you everything you need for life and godliness. 4 days ago
  • Twice today I've opened the fridge to put groceries in that go in the pantry. I'm helping Monday live up to the hype. 2 weeks ago
  • Sitting by Aidan during the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie was more fun than the movie itself. He doesn't just watch. He experiences. 3 weeks ago

