A Tooth Is Not Supposed To Be Blue

March 12, 2009 at 3:04 am 3 comments

I showed the house yesterday. Thanks to my mom and her staging skills, my friend Nikki and her cleaning skills and my kids’ school for the after school program skills, we pulled it off. The lady sounded serious on the phone. 

They drove up in a BMW and a Lincoln Navigator. Or was it an Escalade? 

They looked at the house. For about 10-15 minutes. They didn’t open a cabinet, didn’t walk to the storage building, nothing. I showed them around and then sat down, thinking they’d look. Then the men (3 of them) walked out. The mother took her time telling me how pretty it was decorated. Then the lady who was really looking started saying stuff about finding out the appraisal value (she didn’t ask me what it was, she just hinted that she’d find out). I think she was trying to intimidate me. She kept asking if our price was firm. I told her we would certainly consider any offer. 

Then she got in her Beemer and drove off. 

I have no problem with the showing. I think anyone who can drive what they drive can afford our house, and I kind of resent her hinting that we are asking too much. 

But what really just crawls all over me is the headset attached to her ear. 

I can’t stand those things. 

I’m so sorry if you have one. I don’t mean to offend. But seriously y’all…doesn’t it look just a tiny bit disrespectful when having a one on one conversation and the thing on the side of your face is BLINKING?

It’s the same thing when I’m in the grocery and the lady beside me looking at cereal is talking to herself, only she’s not. It’s weird. And it makes me uncomfortable. 

I’m all for it when driving, or exercising, or doing something that keeps you from having free hands. But walking through a house? Take it off. At church? Take it off. On a date with your sweetie at the fair? Give me a break and take the thing off. 

I’ve never been accused of being lukewarm on the issues. I’m a hot or cold kind of gal, and I’m pretty dadburn cold on those headset thingys. 

If I want people to think I’m nuts, I’ll introduce them to my kids. Talking to myself in the grocery store just can’t hold a candle to them.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What, ME Nervous? The Very Idea! More To This Life

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carrie  |  March 12, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    Haha! I feel the same way! I personally think they look like they should be on an episode of STAR TREK.

    Reply
  • 2. Katie Walden  |  March 12, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    I agree! I hate them!

    Reply
  • 3. Nikki  |  March 13, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    The title of this entry is HILARIOUS! When I first read it I wondered why you used it, but then as I kept reading it all came together! too funny! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Listening to a 90's Country playlist. My son is bewildered by "Prop Me Up Beside the Jukebox When I Die." Me too, dude. Me too. 1 day ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace frees you from fear of the future because it tells you wherever you go whatever you do, your Savior will… 4 days ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace meets you with hope in the present because it guarantees you everything you need for life and godliness. 4 days ago
  • Twice today I've opened the fridge to put groceries in that go in the pantry. I'm helping Monday live up to the hype. 2 weeks ago
  • Sitting by Aidan during the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie was more fun than the movie itself. He doesn't just watch. He experiences. 3 weeks ago

