She’ll Be Gray By Age 6

March 17, 2009 at 3:55 am 3 comments

I had this conversation with Molly tonight in the van:

M: Mama, tell me about when I was a baby. 
Me: okay…hmmm…you had this stuff in you called bilirubin, and you had to lie on this little light thing to help it go away. You got a good tan. I had to teach you how to eat, because you didn’t want to get your milk, but you needed to grow. 
M: did I drink milk like Paisley did?
Me: yes. (I nursed).
M: GROSS!!!
Me: Well, yes, it’s weird for big kids, but that is how God designed babies to get milk. He is taking care of babies by letting milk come from their mamas.
M: Mama?
Me: What, sugar?
M: I’m scared to get my ears pierced, and I’m scared of the baby coming out.
Me: Well, sweetie, you aren’t getting your ears pierced until you are 7 or 8, so you have lots of time to get brave. And what do you mean, “baby coming out”? 
M: I’m scared of the baby coming out of my tummy.
Me: Oh honey. Please don’t be afraid of that. That’s a LONG time away. You have to be a kid, and play with all your friends and have fun. Then be a teenager and learn to study and drive and work and have fun with your friends. Then go to college and decide what you want to do for a job. Then fall in love with a sweet boy and get married. Then maybe later you can have a baby. So you have a long time before you have to think about that.
M: Does it hurt when the baby comes out?
Me: Well, yes, it hurts. But just for a little while, then you forget all about it because you have this terrific, awesome, super great little baby that is in your family. What if I knew you were coming and I got scared about you coming out of my tummy? Then I’d never know you and how cool you are. Sometimes you have to hurt a little bit to get something really great. 
M: That’s right mom. I’m glad I came out of your tummy.
Me: Me too, sister.

End of scene.

Seriously. This is exactly what we said tonight. Well, almost exactly. She described breastfeeding differently, but I have some guy friends that read this and I wouldn’t dare repeat what she said, they’d never come back.

 I have got to chill out on my own worrying. Apparently, it’s rubbing off on my kids! If Molly is 4, she’ll be needing the wrinkle cream by the first grade to rub out those lines on her forehead!

Despite the worrying, it’s conversations like this that make me glad I’m a mama.  Can I get an amen?

Then she came in the house and threw a fit because it was time to turn off the Wii and go to bed. Not a pretty ending for such a sweet moment. That’s why my life isn’t on tv.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Overheard One of My Best Dates

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer  |  March 17, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    I would have a season pass on my tivo to “The Albritton Show”!!!

    Reply
  • 2. April  |  March 19, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    I asked Perry if she & Molly discussed ear piercing or baby birthing while they were playing, and she said no. Which was surprising because Perry is OBSESSED with getting her ears pierced. Anyway, just wanted to let you know that was not prompted by inappropriate discussions at the DeLoach house!

    Reply
  • 3. Carrie  |  March 21, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    Amen! I love these conversations.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…


