This Time Last Week

May 1, 2009 at 2:28 am 2 comments

I had just been told by a total stranger that I was pretty. Seriously. I know, I had a hard time buying it too, but this random guy on the street said it. 

He was either the nicest dude alive, or he really wanted me to give him money. But he had all his teeth, and did not look homeless in the least, so I didn’t give him money. I just said “ummmm thanks!” and walked off, amazed and slightly befuddled. I mean, it didn’t sound like a pick up line, just a compliment. A no-frills, back-to-basics compliment. 

Who does that anymore? Maybe it’s a Georgia thing. 

But it got me thinking. I am going to put a lot more effort into saying what’s on my mind. This dude thought it,(he may have been on crack) and then said it (bless his heart). I can do that. I mean, there’s a time and place for everything, but for the most part, people need to be told from time to time that God made them exactly right. This is not new information, I’ve said it before (around Christmas, remember my little “free gifts” series? Yep, didn’t figure you did.)

But I think it applies to more than just compliments. I think telling someone that they are special and beautiful is one thing. But also, there’s the idea of saying what I think about issues I feel strongly about. I’ve been so proud of Carrie Prejean, Miss California, simply for speaking up about what she thought. You’ve all read or heard about the controversy. I think she has guts. I also think she was asked an awful question, one that will get one of two answers. It was not fair at all for her to be asked an opinion question, then treated like she’s wrong for having the opinion. 

I have strong opinions on so many different things, but I censor myself to death, trying not to offend anyone. I say what’s on my mind, but not what’s REALLY on my mind. Do you do that? I don’t think I’m ever dishonest or not myself, I just hold back what’s really there. 

My grandmother decided years ago she was tired of not saying exactly what was on her mind. Now, she took it to the extreme, and we all were reminded on a regular basis about the condition of our hair or skin or body shape. I don’t mean a no-holds-barred approach, I just think being honest about what I think and believe and feel is crucial to me being who God made me to be. 

So I’m going to quit (hopefully) blogging in my head, and not actually putting the words on the screen. I hope this turns over a new leaf for me, but we’ll see. I have a tendency to chicken out. 

I watched Molly tonight at Michael’s softball game. She loves her friends, and really enjoys being with other kids. But she is absolutely not affected by any other girls around her. She doesn’t cling to anyone. She doesn’t follow anyone. She doesn’t act like everybody else. The only person I’ve ever seen upset her is Aidan. I hope she sticks to that awesome sense of individualism. She inspires me, and she’s 4. She definitely is more like her dad. 

By the way, you want to see Aidan in a cheerleading outfit? 

sc0058cf5dSeriously, with no front teeth, longer hair, and girl clothes, the kid could be me. I think I was 7 or 8 here, and this was my first and last effort at cheerleading. 

Changing gears, again: I was contacted by a company called Country Bob’s. They make a wonderful sauce that you can use on anything. The nice man who emailed me asked if I’d write a review of their sauce. I said yes, and they sent me 2 bottles and some recipes. I haven’t had time to cook at all lately, but I’ve used the sauce on the burgers, hotdogs and chicken we’ve had lately. (It’s tough being a health nut.)

Anyway, the stuff is fabulous. This is not my official review. That’s coming soon. But I just have to say that it’s great, and if you get it, you’re supporting a really great company. Anyway, more on that later. 

Tomorrow is ultra super-duper busy. I need to sleep. Tell some random person that they’re pretty, you’ll make their day.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Molly, Molly, Molly! A Long Time Ago in a Galaxy Far, Far Away…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lisbeth  |  May 1, 2009 at 2:54 am

    AWE Anne – I love that picture!! And, you ARE pretty! I’m so glad that random guy told you! There was a really old lady who came into the pharmacy today – she was all wrinkly and REALLY old, but she had beautiful blue eyes – and I thought it – and then filled her prescription and when she checked out, I told her. I felt kinda weird telling her that, but then she smiled really big and said thanks! So, you are right – it makes the giver of the compliment feel good too!! 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Jeri Ann  |  May 1, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    About the sauce. I just made hamburgers for CaB birthday and put CB in them. delicious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Cut my hair yesterday. Had a stress dream that I had forgotten today was my wedding and my hair was now too short. It's been a long summer. 2 weeks ago
  • Up at 5 almost every day. Practice 3 hrs/day. Eating right. This has been our summer, and it paid off. So proud of my girls and our team! 3 weeks ago
  • @CoachDavidOrr So proud of every Sunkist swimmer! We love our swim family! Thank you for a great State Meet! 3 weeks ago
  • Last night I learned that Molly swims in her sleep. She hit me in the face with a strong backstroke. She cut time- my sleep time. 3 weeks ago
  • I'm learning that social media allows us to never ask each other how we are. We assume we know. We don't. 1 month ago

