Meet My Random Integer Generator

May 9, 2009 at 4:35 am 7 comments

His name is Michael. He’s cute, and can make a mean bowl of cereal. 

100_6659Anyway, he just walked in the living room and I asked him, “Pick a number between 1 and 6.” He said, “5”. 

And that, my friends, is my very first giveaway! Yay to Jill, my sweet friend in Tennessee! I will be emailing you for your address and we’ll go from there. I hope you like the sauce! 

Thanks for playing!

Y’all, there is so much on my old brain that I just can’t get it all straight. 

I’m going to resort to the numbered list. I just can’t form coherent paragraphs these days. 

1. Tonight was fun. I love the Renaissance mall. I really love Anthropologie. I’ve got to learn to go in there and just ooh and ahh over the clothes, but not look at the prices. Just walk through and pretend like it could all be mine, I just don’t have the closet space. Yeah, that’s how to deal with a $78 TANK TOP!!! Just pretend I’ve got so many tank tops at home, I just can’t be bothered with this one…even though it was a cute orange print, with a twisty strappy thing going on…AAAAHHHH! SEVENTY-EIGHT bucks! 

2. We booked a beach vacation today. I’m in shock over it. We got a great deal on a condo, and I’m so excited. We haven’t been anywhere as a family since Paiz joined the club. And it’s the last week in June, which I know will be SO hot, but it will break the summer up into two nice little segments: the 6 weeks of hunger before beach vacation, and the 4 weeks of gorging myself after beach vacation. Can’t wait! 

3. You know I LOVE InStyle magazine. Why I don’t just subscribe to the dadgum thing, I don’t know. But anyway, today I got the new one and there’s an article on jeans. I’m looking for some great jeans, so I was happy about this. Oh my word, they were ripped and acid washed. With ankle zippers. 

Some trends should stay dead. Bury the jeans with your mix tapes and let’s move on. 

4. Speaking of mix tapes, Michael and I had a long discussion about ’em tonight. I’m sure in an attic somewhere, I could find some of my old tapes. I would keep a blank cassette in my jam box (!) all the time and when a song came on the radio that I liked, I’d just hit record. I had a bad habit of hitting record, even if I’d already recorded it. So I have a few tapes with “Ice, Ice, Baby” on them about 5 times. Michael called me lame. 

We also said that the worst thing about recording off the radio is that the DJ talks right up until the guy starts singing, so you miss the whole intro. Michael really hated that. He told me he never made a mix tape for a girl. I think I believe him. I did get a mix tape from the first bf, but it was all songs that he thought I should learn to love. It worked, I did love that little bit of Guns N Roses, Led Zepplin, Neil Young and Eric Clapton that he painstakingly put together to expand my very limited musical horizon. 

5. Back to the present, we visited 2 Madison schools this week. I loved them both, so I feel great about my kids going to school there. Let’s just hope the house sells so they get to! 

6. 100_6715I love these kiddos. More than anything in this whole world. More than clothes, or books, or great food, or vacations. I love the way they talk, the way they laugh, the way they run, the way they dance, the way they embrace life and jump in with both feet. They are fearless and funny, wacky and weird. I am so proud to be their mama. 

7. Aidan is one skinny dude. 

8. If I could change human nature, you know what I would change? I would change the way men relate to one another. I have been blessed greatly by some awesome girlfriends this past year. Just today, I had 2 or 3 long phone conversations with different friends about everything under the sun. I love every minute of that. But men are weird. I know they don’t have time to talk on the phone. But when they talk, they don’t talk about anything. Job, sports, and then hobbies, if they share the same interests. It’s sad to me. I feel like I have some great friends who will hold my feet to the fire and keep me accountable in my daily life. I know they pray for me. I know they understand that I’m a little bit weird, and they are okay with that, because they know that I’d do anything for them. But from just observing the few men I’m around, I notice a lack of really “relating” in relationships. Now, I understand that they need to be manly and macho, I’m not saying they should hug and cry. But it would be nice to see guys bonding over more than just golf and hunting. Maybe real stuff, like what God is doing in their life. Or family, they could talk about how hard it is to balance work and family. Or…I don’t know. I’m not a guy. But you get my point. 

9. I am finding myself in a desert place these days, and I need God to teach me something new. I’ve not been going to Tuesday Bible Study because I know I’d never keep up with the homework. I’m finding that I’m more distracted and easily consumed with selfish thoughts and motives when I’m not plugged in. I’m always aware of his presence, and I recognize him in every area of my life, I just don’t feel very awake and alive spiritually. I need a fresh word. I’m going to see Beth Moore in October, and I really am not going to wait until then. I can get my fresh word from Jesus in my living room, and that’s what I’m going to have to do! 

10. I really want to start a movement. I want parents who don’t want their kids to have cell phones until they can drive to unite together and make a stand. I was in Walmart tonight, and it’s just hard to see a 10 year old texting. What are they saying? And to whom? And then, when you try to speak to a child you know, they don’t look at you in the eyes because their only communication skills are dwindling down to nothing because they write incomplete words with no punctuation, so they can’t carry on a regular conversation. It’s a pet peeve, can you tell? I told y’all a while ago, I’m tired of holding it in. My kids may be the weird ones, but they will be able to talk to adults. 

I guess I should stop at 10. I’m putting myself to sleep. Have I mentioned that I love writing this meaningless mess? Seriously, my loves, in order, go like this: Jesus, Michael, kids, family, friends, The Gap, this blog, and so on and on and on. But 7th place is not bad at all, because my list of loves is endless, people. 

Let me go find Random Integer Generator and see if he wants to catch up on The Office tonight. Love you all.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Rock ‘N Roll! I Got My Trivial Pursuit Skills From Her

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nicki  |  May 9, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    That is a rockin’ kiddy pool you have. The bubbles make it look like a jacuzzi! So, your kids may not have cell phones but how many of their friends have kiddie polls with a jacuzzi?

    Reply
  • 2. nicki  |  May 9, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    and, i just realized I spelled kiddie two different ways. I’m not sure which is right!

    Reply
  • 3. Melanie  |  May 9, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    I’m on board with the cell phones…!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Jennifer  |  May 9, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    I told Joey that our girls can have a phone when they have a job! If they are driving somewhere by themselves they can borrow one of our phones! Drives me CRAZY!

    Reply
  • 5. Jeri Ann  |  May 9, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    good post…oh yeah thanks for the invite. we ate at strawberry cafe and then went to strawberry patch park (i guess we sould have eaten strawberry icecream too)and watched everyone elses kids play in the pond and not ours. weird. anywho-it was good for us to talk without kids hanging on our legs.
    And about the Bible Study on Tuesdays. come anyway even if you don’t do all of the homework. The videos are worth it and encouraging. hate you didn’t join us this srping.

    Reply
  • 6. Michael "R.I.G." Albritton  |  May 10, 2009 at 3:03 am

    Your RIG was passed out asleep by the time you finished your blog.

    Reply
  • 7. intuizido  |  May 20, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    Engaging web site. hope to definitely visit soon!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Listening to a 90's Country playlist. My son is bewildered by "Prop Me Up Beside the Jukebox When I Die." Me too, dude. Me too. 1 day ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace frees you from fear of the future because it tells you wherever you go whatever you do, your Savior will… 4 days ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace meets you with hope in the present because it guarantees you everything you need for life and godliness. 4 days ago
  • Twice today I've opened the fridge to put groceries in that go in the pantry. I'm helping Monday live up to the hype. 2 weeks ago
  • Sitting by Aidan during the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie was more fun than the movie itself. He doesn't just watch. He experiences. 3 weeks ago

