I Got My Trivial Pursuit Skills From Her

May 11, 2009 at 3:09 am 4 comments

My mom rocks at trivia. She can pretty much put us all out of the game. I can’t remember the last time we played, but she wins every time. She is especially good at the movie questions. She has a weird knowledge of the entertainment world from 1960-1999. Then she started reading Nora Roberts books and just doesn’t care anymore. 

And that’s just one of the things I love about her. 

I love that she’s incredibly wise. She knows the right thing to do 99% of the time. My sister in law and I joke about how in the midst of crisis, it’s just natural to call Cindy, because she’s going to have a solution. 

I love that she works hard. She is a great boss to her employees, and is always fair. She prays for them and lets them know that she gives a rip about their lives. I’m so proud of the way she works, even though I know her heart is at home. 

I love that she didn’t raise me to care about what others thought. She never bought me something because other people had one. She never pressured me to try out for something because everyone else did. She just didn’t care what the other moms were pushing their daughters to do. She just simply let me be me, and loved me that way. 

I love that she understands flat feet, because she’s got ’em. I mean, I hate that she has them, but I love that she understands that we just have to spend more on our shoes. It’s nice to have an ally in shoe shopping. 

I love her for being completely sold out to Jesus. I mean, she’s a minister’s wife and all, but church is not her life. Jesus is. She has lived every day of my life in such a way that I’ve never questioned her walk with the Lord. I remember walking in her room as a child and seeing her on her knees praying. I feel safe in knowing that she trusts God in everything. 

I love her for being so much fun. She took us everywhere, and we had a blast. We went to water parks, to museums, on picnics, and every church activity known to man. And it was always fun. My mom was the chaperone on the youth trip who would ditch the ladies her age and ride the rides with the college kids. She would be the first on the ski slope, or in the raft on the river. She never said no to a new adventure or opportunity. 

I love her because she likes to shop. She and I have had some of our best times just walking around a new store, or laughing at the miles of nothing anybody needs at the Canton Flea Market. 

She’s introverted. She knows LOTS of folks, but not many people really know her. She keeps her mouth shut, and her thoughts to herself. She doesn’t love a big crowd, but is comfortable in one. She loves to travel and see new places. I can’t wait to see what she and dad get to do in retirement. 

She loves her grandkids and thinks they are the best things in the world. From the minute each one of them arrived, they’ve made a special and unique relationship with her. She and daddy have made their house a kid’s paradise and have already made some really special memories there. 

She has never told me how to be a mom. She lets me raise my kids my way. From the time I became an adult, she has refrained from telling me how to live. I know this had to be hard at times, but she did me a huge favor by holding back. Now, when I ask, she helps me out. But as far as making my own decisions, she’s been great at letting me do that. 

She loves my Michael. She treats him as a son, and a friend. She knows he loves me and that our time is precious. She helps us protect that. They are so alike in personality, they get along well. 

She’s brave. She has dealt with things in life and at work that I don’t know if I could handle like she did. She is strong. She rarely cries and is the level headed peacemaker in situations where emotions run high. 

I could list a million qualities that I love about her. 

When I had each of my babies, she spent a week with me. Each time she left, I would ask her, “How on earth can I pay you back?” and her answer would always be, “Raise your kids right, and you have.” 

I’m doing my best on that. But I’ll still never pay her back. What she has given me is priceless. Unconditional love that could only be possible through Christ is something I could never earn from her. But she gives it freely, despite all my faults and insecurities. 

Thanks, Mama. I love you more than you’ll ever know. Thanks for letting me be me. Thanks for teaching me by your words and your life that Jesus lives and works in us everyday. Thanks for praying for me. Because you did, I have Michael, our kids, and a great life. Thanks for loving dad so much. Thanks for being my best friend. 

And one more thing I love…have you heard her sing? She’s the best. 

100_6749

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Meet My Random Integer Generator Can He Hang The Tassel From His Bike?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nicki  |  May 11, 2009 at 3:16 am

    What a very special tribute! I don’t know your mom but if you are in anything like her, she must be incredible! Tell her thanks from all of us whose lives have been touched by you!

    Reply
  • 2. Jane Wilson  |  May 11, 2009 at 3:28 am

    Beautiful!!

    Reply
  • 3. Kelly Waldrop  |  May 11, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    That was so sweet. I cried….

    Reply
  • 4. Jennifer Richardson  |  May 17, 2009 at 2:07 am

    That was so sweet and made me miss my mom terribly. What will we ever do without them?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


