You Were Warned

May 20, 2009 at 4:46 am 1 comment

This is not a happy post with pictures and kid stories. 

My heart grieves for my friend. I need to give her a hug. When my friends hurt, I hurt too. 

I don’t understand why things happen the way they do. My faith is strong, I believe in God’s sovereignty. I hold fast to it every day. But I just don’t get it sometimes. My logic is so weak compared to God’s, but in moments of tragedy and confusion, I think he’s the one who doesn’t get it. And that makes me mad at myself, because I know the creator of all things, who is a complete manifestation of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self control is at the helm of the ship, no matter how stormy the waters may seem. 

I think about Daniel and his buds, when asked to worship something other than God and then threatened with the fire, they said (in my substandard paraphrasing) “Our God is going to save us. We know he can and will. But even if he doesn’t, we will worship him instead of your gods, because he is the one and only true God.” 

And I realize I have a long way to go on faith. I know God is good. I know he can and will bless those who love him. But will I worship him, even when the blessings are invisible? I’d like to think I would, but I don’t know. 

Praising him in the storm. I know it’s a song, and kind of cliche, but I want to learn to do that better. I have done it, and plan to continue throughout the faith journey of my life. But I want the kind of faith that sees God in every detail of the good and bad. I want him to knock my socks off with the constant revelations of truth through circumstances out of my control. I don’t want control. I just want God to drive, taking me where he wants me to be, and helping me see him work along every bend in the road. 

I really didn’t want this post to be about me. But I can’t write about my friend, it’s too personal, and she means too much. And through her situation today, I’ve dealt a lot with God. I am so glad he allowed us to be friends. She’s a pretty amazing person. I admire her more every time we talk. I’m just now, at my ripe old age of 32, learning what it means to have friends that “sticketh closer than a brother”. (I said “sticketh” Yay me.) It’s comforting, and makes me feel like maybe, for the first time in 10 years, we’ve really found a home. 

So pray for my friend, please. You don’t have to know her name. God does. She’s in a storm, and wants to praise him, but knows how hard it will be to do that right now. I want to encourage. I want to be a faithful prayer warrior. I want to love and help her heal. That’s me doing the “sticketh” part, right? 

Thanks. And may God reveal something beautiful to you very soon. Good night.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Can He Hang The Tassel From His Bike? Crazy Paizy!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. April  |  May 21, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    It seems like a lot of friends are going through difficult times this year. One of my older friends told me that’s how the early thirties were for her circle of friends. I am sure it means a lot to your friend to have someone to talk to that truly cares and can be a friend when her happy face is no where to be found. It says a lot about your friendship that her struggles leave your heart sad too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Listening to a 90's Country playlist. My son is bewildered by "Prop Me Up Beside the Jukebox When I Die." Me too, dude. Me too. 2 days ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace frees you from fear of the future because it tells you wherever you go whatever you do, your Savior will… 5 days ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace meets you with hope in the present because it guarantees you everything you need for life and godliness. 5 days ago
  • Twice today I've opened the fridge to put groceries in that go in the pantry. I'm helping Monday live up to the hype. 2 weeks ago
  • Sitting by Aidan during the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie was more fun than the movie itself. He doesn't just watch. He experiences. 3 weeks ago

