Sunday Afternoon

May 24, 2009 at 7:20 pm 2 comments

I can hear Michael and the big kids playing Lego Star Wars on the Wii in the living room. I’m propped up in bed, thinking about sleep. I had 2 cokes at Mazzios after church today, so I don’t think I’ll be able to, but the time alone to just sit is a beautiful thing anyway. 

I really wish someone would come look at our house. I clean it every. single. day. And live here with 3 kids that are out of school for the summer. I’m not unhappy or complaining, it’s just disheartening when we all are working hard (even the kids, believe it or not) for what seems like nothing. 

So I’m not cleaning it today. I just don’t feel like it. It’s the sabbath. 

Lying next to me is our newest member of the family, Rosie. Rosie is a ballerina doll the size of Paisley, and she’s Molly’s new best friend. She has loops on her feet that Molly can put on her own feet and they dance together. It’s really cute. Molly got her yesterday and she just fit right in. I had to brush her teeth last night, give her water, tuck her in, and was told “Rosie is a really good listener if you ever need to talk, Mom.” 

I was comforted beyond words by that. 

But now, Rosie is taking a nap, while Molly watches the boys play Star Wars. She loves to watch them. It really makes me laugh, because she doesn’t want to play, she just wants to narrate the game. It’s funny stuff. 

We had to keep the 2 year old class today during the service. Most of the kids are 3 now, and they are so funny. There was one little boy in there who had an obsession with my toes. Seriously. He sat on the floor almost the WHOLE HOUR holding onto my toes. Bless him. I made him wash his hands, because who knows where those toes have been? 

Then we had another little boy who was so super friendly, he knew the name of every kid in the class. He welcomed them all by name. Future deacon, that dude. 

Then we had the 3 or 4 who wouldn’t look at me or smile at me for the first half hour. Then after one or twelve rounds of Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes, they warmed up and decided the rest of me was okay, not just my toes. 

Songs with motions and goldfish will win them over, every time. 

Aidan got a haircut yesterday. His hair was huge. It’s no longer curly, like it was most of his life. It’s just big, and quite poofy. So, we had it cut off. I still think we could have made it shorter on the top, but I get timid when someone comes at my little boy with scissors. So now, I can see his face, and not just his big mop of hair. Those brown eyes are a killer. Big and inquisitive, and slightly mischievous. 

Now it’s too late for me to fall asleep. Shucks. 

I’m looking at the shoes hanging on the door of my closet. I have a pair of red sandals from Ann Taylor. They are SO CUTE, but the last time I wore them, they made my feet bleed, no lie. I’m wondering if it’s worth it to try again. They sure are sassy. 

I am getting so sleepy, so maybe I can squeeze in 45 minutes before Michael comes in here at 3 and kicks me back out into the world of childrearing. Wish me luck. And I promise the next post will entertain your socks off, as I’m sure this one hasn’t.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Crazy Paizy! Awake. And Not Happy About It.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeri Ann  |  May 25, 2009 at 1:35 am

    this one did entertain….me yes….but entertain it did!

    Reply
  • 2. Marcee  |  June 8, 2009 at 2:47 am

    Ha, I am doing a little “catch up” reading but I think you may be referring to my little deacon. Ha!! He LOVES people. My little social butterfly. =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Listening to a 90's Country playlist. My son is bewildered by "Prop Me Up Beside the Jukebox When I Die." Me too, dude. Me too. 1 day ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace frees you from fear of the future because it tells you wherever you go whatever you do, your Savior will… 4 days ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace meets you with hope in the present because it guarantees you everything you need for life and godliness. 4 days ago
  • Twice today I've opened the fridge to put groceries in that go in the pantry. I'm helping Monday live up to the hype. 2 weeks ago
  • Sitting by Aidan during the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie was more fun than the movie itself. He doesn't just watch. He experiences. 3 weeks ago

