She’s Always Good for Reminders

July 6, 2009 at 1:55 pm 1 comment

I have a cousin named Sarah. She’s smart, funny, cute, athletic, super-talented, sure of herself, a great wife and mom, and a friend. Her birthday was last week, and I was at the beach. I was sitting on my rented chair thinking about how it was her birthday and I needed to call, but then I fell asleep, and when I woke up, I had a sinus infection and all thoughts of birthday greetings flew out the window. 

So I sent her a belated text, and her response let me know I was forgiven. Whew!

Late last night, I got an email from her asking if I was going to put the beach pics up on the blog. I laughed and wrote back that if she’d join Facebook, she’d have seen them by now! She’s not joining Facebook, she’s stubborn that way. But she may be one of the last few folks who check the blog regularly, so I told her I’d be putting the pics up shortly. 

I just said all of that to say: We went to the beach, there are pictures, and they will be here soon. I can’t figure out a fast way to post pics on the blog, so I put it off until I have lots of time. 

Now back to Sarah. I’m glad she’s my friend. I’m glad she’s my family. She makes me laugh, and her son Tyler may be one of the cutest little boys I’ve ever known. I miss her, she moved to Florida a while back, and I love it when we talk on the phone now and then. 

When we were growing up, she was always treated as “the responsible one” because she was the oldest, and had to make Jenni and I behave. But she was secretly as crazy as we were, she just knew how to hide it for the grownups. Some of the best jokes I’ve ever played, I played on her, and she always retaliated tenfold. 

She fell in love with Jason right after high school, and we all knew that he was it for her. He’s one of the best guys I’ve ever known. They are just right for each other. Through everything they’ve been through, they’ve stuck closely together, relying on God to be their guide. I’m proud to be family with people like that. 

So happy late birthday, sweet Sarah. I love you, and I’m glad you’re you. I’ll get those pictures up, but you still need to join Facebook. I’m just sayin’.

100_5701(This was her favorite Christmas present, EVER.)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Freedom. Shrimp, Sand, Surf, Smiles, and NO Sunburn!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  July 6, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    No, you didn’t! the picture, that is. not the sweet words. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Listening to a 90's Country playlist. My son is bewildered by "Prop Me Up Beside the Jukebox When I Die." Me too, dude. Me too. 1 day ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace frees you from fear of the future because it tells you wherever you go whatever you do, your Savior will… 4 days ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace meets you with hope in the present because it guarantees you everything you need for life and godliness. 4 days ago
  • Twice today I've opened the fridge to put groceries in that go in the pantry. I'm helping Monday live up to the hype. 2 weeks ago
  • Sitting by Aidan during the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie was more fun than the movie itself. He doesn't just watch. He experiences. 3 weeks ago

