Shrimp, Sand, Surf, Smiles, and NO Sunburn!

July 8, 2009 at 3:25 am 2 comments

I’m still kind of shocked that we pulled it off. 

We took all of our crazy selves to the beach. 

(collective “oh my gosh, they’re nuts!” I understand, I thought so, too!)

We packed up most of our earthly belongings a week and a half ago, and set out down Hwy. 51 into Madison to make a very, very important stop. 

We had to pick up Allie. 

Yes, our sweet friend, Allie, who my kids adore to pieces and who was the reason we all came home reasonably unstressed. She’s 17, funny, smart, sweet, and patient. She fit in with our weirdness immediately, and so far, hasn’t told anybody that we’re insane, to my knowledge. 

100_6992We drove to Hattiesburg and had lunch at a very crowded McAllister’s. Then made our way to Biloxi where we found our hotel for the night. Michael had a suite reserved because we had so many people. They made a mistake at the hotel and put us in a smoking room. Now, just in case any of you that read this smoke, that’s your choice. What you put in your lungs is your business. But the rooms stink, and I refuse to stay in one. So the only room they had left was a room with a king bed, a couch bed, and they could bring us two rollaway beds. The room was HUGE. It was more like a studio apartment. The kids jumped from bed to bed for a solid hour. We watched Jonas and Horton Hears a Who. Allie and I bought groceries and Michael went for pizza. It was a fun start to our week. 

The next morning we got up and went to the Lynn Meadows Discovery Center in Gulfport. If you have a chance to go, please do. It’s just wonderful. I really enjoyed it more than the Children’s Museum in New Orleans. It was clean, bright, and very interactive. We stayed 4 hours, enjoyed a picnic lunch, and just had a big time. Here are some of my favorite pictures:

100_7010This thing was in the middle of the museum. The kids loved it. I hit my head too many times to be crazy about it. 

100_7006You paddle in the canoe in front of the green screen…

100_7007And you show up on TV!

100_7055There was the play supermarket, where Aidan worked the fish counter. Business is slow at the moment…

100_7028Molly had to catch the train. If I had a dollar for every time we sang “Boomerang Express” in this little train…I’d buy the museum.

There was so much more. A science area, an area where kids can experience what it’s like to lose one of their senses. There’s a toddler section, and a huge outdoor area with gorgeous tree houses in the old oaks that are so prominent on the coast. It was a wonderful time. 

We drove through a thunderstorm, but finally made it to Alabama’s coast, and our condo. The rain stopped, so the kids quickly put on swimsuits and headed out. This was Paisley’s first view of the beach! 

100_7061100_7062And she quickly leaped into her daddy’s arms, because she didn’t like sand on her feet. 

100_7067The older kids, however, had a LARGE time. They stayed outside until dark. 

The rest of the trip looks pretty much like this: we played on the beach. I tried to introduce the guy we rented our chairs from to Allie because he was cute. We ate a lot of seafood and sandwiches. We stayed up late because we stayed on the beach until dark. We came in every afternoon and napped. Allie and I hit the outlet mall and I got a great dress and one of those straw cowboy hats that makes me look like I’m going to a Kenny Chesney concert. I packed clothes for a family picture, but it never happened. We got one, though. And since I’m standing behind Michael, it’s the only picture you’ll ever see of me in a swimsuit. 

100_7074This was bright and early one morning, before we all got wet. Having Allie there was brilliant, she could play on the beach while Michael and I swam, or could take Paisley to the pool, where she was happiest. It was a great decision to bring her, and I loved getting to know her better. 

100_7087100_7078100_7177100_7178100_7115This dude gave us his body board, and we LOVED it. The waves on Wednesday were huge, this picture doesn’t do them justice. Michael stayed in the water most of the day. They were easily 10 feet tall, and so much fun!

100_7180And this is proof that you can have too much fun. 

I got a sinus infection on Wednesday. We drove home on Thursday and before Michael even took Allie home, he dropped me off at MEA to get a shot and a Z-Pack. I was feeling better by bedtime, but that drive home had been rough! 

Now all the sand is washed out of our suits, the coolers are stowed away. We’ve been home almost a week now and I’m craving just one or two more days of sunshine and sea. 

Summer’s not over yet….

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

She’s Always Good for Reminders The One Where We Said, “I Do.”

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer R.  |  July 9, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    I’m so glad you guys had a good time. Great pictures!

    Reply
  • 2. Nikki  |  July 10, 2009 at 12:31 am

    I’m so glad you all had a great time and taking Allie was an AWESOME thing to do. She is one amazing young woman! 😀
    I’ve not heard of the place in Gulfport. We usually just drive the whole way with a about an hour break at our parents house in H’burg. We don’t get by the Mississippi coast going that way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • RT @Dodgers: HERO. #ThisTeam https://t.co/tUQ3UsJTA3 1 day ago
  • I’ve looked forward to church today since I left the parking lot last Sunday. Grateful for @gccjxn ! 2 days ago
  • Just sitting here, basking in the realization that my kids are too old for the pumpkin patch. I’m thrilled at this development. 6 days ago
  • My whole family wishes they’d send Iris into the speed force on #TheFlash. First episode of season 4 and she’s already making us mad. 6 days ago
  • Paisley: “who’s winning the game?” Michael: “the Cubs are ahead.” P: “they’re beating Walgreens?” That “W” throws her off every time. 1 week ago

