The One Where We Said, “I Do.”

July 10, 2009 at 7:12 pm 5 comments

It’s been a whole decade. 

While I’m not really surprised, seeing as how there’s nobody else in the world that has the tenacity of Michael to stick with me for this long, I have to admit it’s a little bit surreal to know that I’ve actually built a life with another person. 

Hear that, honey? We’ve BUILT A LIFE. 

Without killing each other. 

I know 10 years is a mere drop in the bucket for many of you. I hope it’s just a drop in the bucket for us! But we’ve had some awesome times in the last 3,650 (give or take a few, I didn’t figure leaps) days and I wouldn’t have traded a minute of my life with him to be anywhere else. 

So let’s celebrate! 

sc0056dc60This is Michael, without me. I know he’s in London, but let’s pretend he’s sad and forlorn and quite lonely. 

sc0058c3d0This is me, without Michael. Apparently, my parents were so desperate for me to find purpose in my life that they enlisted me. 

We needed each other. 

sc0056bb7aThen after a weird turn of events involving us dating each other’s friends while secretly pining away for one another (that’s not EXACTLY what happened, I just like to pretend it that way. This is my story.) we realized that we had to be together. I think it was the matching pants that did it. 

So we dated, and broke up, and dated, and broke up, and dated, and broke up. 

Then Michael finally got past his issues (which were totally unfounded, because, seriously, who wouldn’t want to enjoy my brilliant conversation and wit on a daily basis?) and proposed. 

There was a picture from that night, but the flash makes us both look like we dipped our faces in baby powder, so never mind. 

Then we registered. We got gifts. We invited. We planned. We picked a honeymoon destination. We went to counseling. We bought furniture. We made HUGE decisions about where we’d live and what we would do. 

Then the day came. The night before had been fun, hanging out with our friends and eating Sonny’s BBQ. My brother sat in my room until the wee hours of the morning while I packed, and I like to think that maybe he was there because he would miss me. My mom and I put the hot rollers in my hair, and headed to the church. We left my car at my grandparents’ house because Michael’s Mustang was the getaway car. We arrived at the church and started getting ready.

sc00bf6979This has always been one of my very favorite pictures. These girls were a blast. They are the reason I was not nervous, and in quite a good mood when it was time to hit the aisle. They helped make my day so happy. 

sc00bf5d11This is while my friend Clark was singing “Love Changes Everything”. Thank you, Alta Woods, for not having the “only Christian songs” rule for weddings. While I support that rule, I am so glad we used that Andrew Lloyd Webber song. 

sc0068fb2b

Here we go! We could not, would not be sentimental before this moment. He had a ceremony to do, and I had perfect eye makeup, courtesy of my cousin/guru, Jenni. So we laughed, we talked about how awesome the music sounded, we joked about how we wanted to get the show on the road. 

Michael and I opted not to see each other before the wedding. I kind of wish now that we had done that, just to do the pictures early, but good grief, I loved seeing his face. Nobody stood up when I came in, per my request. I wanted us to see just each other, and not have to look through the crowd. Michael knows me so well, and specifically asked me not to walk down the aisle waving at everyone, but to try and stay focused on him. At first I found the request a little ridiculous, I mean, it’s my parade, right? But when the doors opened, he never even had to ask. There was nowhere else I wanted to be but right at the front, beside the best person I’ve ever known. 

sc00bf502f

If I had to change everything about that day, except the groom, of course, and just keep one thing, it would be having my dad do the ceremony. He did a great job, and it was touching and sweet, without being a tear-jerker. 

Oh, and the above picture is the one where Michael thinks my hair looks like Cousin It from The Addams Family, in the episode where he gets a toupee…but he’s quit saying that out loud when he sees it.

sc00bf3ec0And there we go…full of excitement, promise, wishes and a lot of nerves about our future.

Then there was the reception which I hardly remember. Then the run through rose petals, which was sort of fun. Then the awkward pulling away from the church, and the drive where we just didn’t know what to talk about for the first time in the 7 years we’d been friends. It was awesome, scary, funny and overwhelming. 

Then the honeymoon from the depths of Hades, and the move to our first home: an apartment on St. Anthony Avenue in New Orleans. We had to find jobs, and set up house before Michael started school. 

Those years were spent praying for provision and direction. We made so many friends and had some great experiences, and some not so great experiences. For example, we said goodbye to the Mustang:

sc0045bc0c

We were sad about the car being stolen, but our grief was assuaged when we found out we were expecting something else: A BABY! Our world turned sideways when we saw those results. Then Michael finished school,

sc00568fadwe moved to Meridian, MS, and 3 weeks later:

sc00c4bb07Then 20 months later:

sc0068d209Then two and a half years later:

100_0561

And the rest, they say, is history. Our history. There’s so much more to the story, which already has gotten too long for this post, because there is so much more to us than where we live and what we do and having kids. Everything about Michael has become a part of me, and everything about me is now a part of Michael. We are a unit, cohesive and unbreakable. 

We’ve had thousands of laughs. We’ve discussed everything under the sun. We’ve fought about misunderstandings and miscommunications. We’ve prayed and seen God do amazing things. We have high expectations of our marriage and work hard at it. We are each other’s best friend, and favorite person. 

I may do things on this earth that are pretty good. I have a lot to be proud of, with my kids and an accomplishment here and there. But the thing I am most proud of, and the thing I work hardest at, is this. I love my husband. I have prayed for him since I was 15 years old. It is an honor and privilege to be his wife every day. 

Thanks for hanging with me, buddy. We’re better now than when we first started this deal. God has been so faithful, so good. I give him the glory and praise for everything. Let’s go kick up our heels!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Shrimp, Sand, Surf, Smiles, and NO Sunburn! Big Decisions…and Abraham.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica Pogue  |  July 10, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    I love this, and I love yall! I’m lucky to know yall.

    Reply
  • 2. Rick Garner  |  July 10, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Awesome. I always enjoy your writings as you clearly have a gift at the scribing (one of thy reasons for rockstar status). Ultimately, marriage is hard…life is hard…but the best things do require some work. Some attention. Some devotion. (After all, it’s easy to eat chocolate…but then you want more…and then you kick sick…and…wait, why are we talking about chocolate?!)

    Kim and I have a couple more years on ya but in this day and time, 10 years seems like an eternity compared to many marriages. The blessing is feeling like it was just yesterday while feeling like it’s been THAT long. Because to me, that’s the perfect marriage coin. Love and reality. Love without reality doesn’t survive very long…and reality without love doesn’t either…and is a lot harder.

    Hang in there, rockstar, it’ll be 10 more before you know it. And I’ll even toss ya some of my denture cream if ya need 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. stephanie  |  July 10, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    Congratulations Albrittons! Marc and I will always be so regretful that we missed the wedding but we were way too anxious to get our show on the road…tunnel vision and all that…We find so much familiar between the two of you and the two of us. The post was the best I’ve ever read from you and gave me my own dose of nostalgia about our unexpected road.

    God bless and all of the Rolph love you guys can stand!

    Reply
  • 4. Adaryll  |  July 11, 2009 at 4:03 am

    i LOVED this post! happy anniversary!

    Reply
  • 5. Jane Wilson  |  July 12, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    Beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Cut my hair yesterday. Had a stress dream that I had forgotten today was my wedding and my hair was now too short. It's been a long summer. 2 weeks ago
  • Up at 5 almost every day. Practice 3 hrs/day. Eating right. This has been our summer, and it paid off. So proud of my girls and our team! 3 weeks ago
  • @CoachDavidOrr So proud of every Sunkist swimmer! We love our swim family! Thank you for a great State Meet! 3 weeks ago
  • Last night I learned that Molly swims in her sleep. She hit me in the face with a strong backstroke. She cut time- my sleep time. 3 weeks ago
  • I'm learning that social media allows us to never ask each other how we are. We assume we know. We don't. 1 month ago

