Big Decisions…and Abraham.

July 16, 2009 at 3:43 am 1 comment

It’s been a big day here at Casa de la Albritton. Not big, like eventful big, but big in the sense that we’ve got a lot to think and pray about. 

I’ll start by telling you about what Molly told me today. She came downstairs and said that she had been doing something important. I asked her if she cleaned her room. No. Did she write a book? No. Did she make up a new song? No, she said. She told me that it was about God. She got tired of my guesses and told me that she had been praying to God. I asked her what she was praying about and she said, “I just wanted to thank God for my family, mama”. She hugged me, then said, “Mama, I believe in God. I believe that he is going to take care of all of us.”. 

Yeah, me too, I just have trouble seeing it sometimes.

Then tonight, Michael was tucking Aidan in and they were having a discussion. Aidan wanted to know why the earth moved around the sun so slowly. He asked, “Would we all fly off if it went fast, dad?” Michael said yep, we’d all fly off. Then Aidan said, “God’s got the planet under control. God’s got everything under control, right daddy? He’s got the world, He’s got the weather, and our bodies under control. But not cars, dad. He doesn’t have cars under control, but he has people under control and we’re smart and we can make the cars. But if God wanted to make the cars, he could. He would just say, ‘CAR’, and a car would just appear in front of people’s houses.” 

True, true. 

So the house still is sporting a pretty sign in the yard. It doesn’t look like it’s going to sell soon. So yesterday, I started to wonder if I needed to take the situation into my own grubby little hands and find my own answers. I started jumping ahead of myself and assuming that I knew what would be best for my family. 

Here’s the deal, though. I’ve lived my entire life letting God handle the big decisions. I don’t know how I would ever make a life altering choice without him telling me exactly what to do. I don’t have any secret knowledge of the mind of God. I am actually quite baffled and confused about why he works like he does. But I do trust him, and believe that he loves me and will do things perfectly in his time. 

So trying to find an answer for Aidan’s school situation just didn’t work out for me. I’m going to continue to wait, and do what I feel like he’s telling me to do, which is teach my son at home. 

And for the first time, I’m actually feeling up to the challenge. I think we can do it. I believe with all my heart that home is where I am supposed to be, and I know Aidan responds well to one on one time, so it’s the best answer right now. 

So Michael is reading about Abraham and Sarah tonight. God promised Abraham descendants. But he never told him how he would get those descendants, or how soon he’d get them. So they waited, and waited and I’m sure were quite confused about God’s timing. After 11 years, Sarah took matters into her own hands and decided to give Abraham a son through her servant. This was a bad choice on so many levels. It was another 13 years before they found out that God was going to give him a child through Sarah. Then they had to wait another year before they actually had the baby. So it was 24 years since God promised Abraham descendants before it actually happened. 

And then, after all that waiting, a few years later, Abraham was willing to put his child on the altar, just because God told him to. 

This is what was written about Abraham in Romans, chapter 4:

18Against all hope, Abraham in hope believed and so became the father of many nations, just as it had been said to him, “So shall your offspring be.” 19Without weakening in his faith, he faced the fact that his body was as good as dead—since he was about a hundred years old—and that Sarah’s womb was also dead. 20Yet he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God, 21being fully persuaded that God had power to do what he had promised. 22This is why “it was credited to him as righteousness.”

So rather than look at what God is doing right now and wondering why I don’t have a tangible answer, I choose to focus on what he has promised us. He has promised us an abundant life and a house full of joy. He has promised us peace and comfort. He has promised us that we will be provided for, according to his riches. 

My own plans will always fall short compared to the fullness of blessings that God can give us if we wait on him and walk with him every step of the way. 

My kids seem to get that. They believe God’s in control. Apparently they’ve heard that somewhere. It’s time for mama to step up and put my faith behind my words. 

I can’t wait to see the big picture.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The One Where We Said, “I Do.” I Would Buy Night Vision Goggles

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Nikki  |  July 16, 2009 at 5:52 am

    Your kids know those things because you’ve taught them those things!! Your kids believe it because you live it. I can think of No one with a better talent or gift to teach their children than you. I’ve watched you teach them. You’re a great teacher. Your 3 kids are proof.

    I can’t wait to see what God has in store for all of you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Listening to a 90's Country playlist. My son is bewildered by "Prop Me Up Beside the Jukebox When I Die." Me too, dude. Me too. 1 day ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace frees you from fear of the future because it tells you wherever you go whatever you do, your Savior will… 4 days ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace meets you with hope in the present because it guarantees you everything you need for life and godliness. 4 days ago
  • Twice today I've opened the fridge to put groceries in that go in the pantry. I'm helping Monday live up to the hype. 2 weeks ago
  • Sitting by Aidan during the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie was more fun than the movie itself. He doesn't just watch. He experiences. 3 weeks ago

