I Would Buy Night Vision Goggles

July 21, 2009 at 4:29 am 2 comments

Michael and I watched “Dating In The Dark” tonight. 

The concept is, if you haven’t seen the commercials, 3 guys and 3 girls meet up in a completely dark room. We see them because of some weird camera thing, but they can’t see each other. They get to know each other, and through their compatibility tests and personal choice, they pair up. They spend time together in the room and can talk by email a little bit. 

Then, at the end of the show, they see each other. They stand there in the dark room and one of them is revealed at a time. They can’t say anything and can’t see each other’s reaction. 

After the reveal, they can either meet on the balcony if they’re interested in spending more time together, or they can leave the house alone. It’s gut-wrenching television, I tell ya. 

So Michael and I have been discussing now for the last hour all that is wrong and right with this situation. I mean, getting to know someone without the pressure of worrying what you look like is great. However, people are so shallow, and can totally blow off a potential connection (I hate that word, it’s so “Bachelor”) if what they see is not as good as they thought it might be. 

Two of the three couples “made it”, so to speak. The other couple was the most normal of the group, and I really thought they’d end up dating. But this girl was a jerk and left a seemingly really nice guy standing alone on the balcony. It was sad, and I hope she broke one of the heels off of her toweringly high shoes on her walk down the driveway. 

I asked Michael, “If you were single, and in your 20’s, would you do a dating reality show?” I didn’t even need to ask, because we all know the answer to that one. ABSOLUTELY NOT. 

But then Michael, in return said, “I don’t even have to ask, I know you would!” I refuse to believe that deep down he is disappointed in me. But he probably is. Because he’s right. I’d do it. 

And that fact about myself is why we should all thank God today that I’m married. 

I was not good at dating in broad daylight. I’d really be a mess in complete darkness.

But that does not need to be verified by anyone who might know that firsthand. Thanks. 

Moving on…

Don’t you think God has just been smiling all over us by giving us 87 degree days? Here in Mississippi? In JULY? I tell you what, I hope everyone who realizes he’s responsible has thanked him to pieces this week. What an awesome blessing! 

Speaking of pretty days, we’ve got to get out of the house tomorrow. The troops are turning on each other and there have been many internal battles. A house divided cannot stand. I now really know what that means. 

I love having three kids. I don’t regret a minute of it. But the only problem is this: I can’t go anywhere fun without just a little extra help. I mean, I’m completely capable of managing them myself. But trying to take them somewhere like the Science Museum, or the Zoo, and explain to one child about an albino catfish, while trying to catch the other child before they run outside and take the other one to the bathroom at the same time is a bit taxing. I’m not a fan of cloning, and usually don’t think it’s a good idea…but I have my moments where I give it my complete support. 

Maybe I could just throw them into a completely dark room and tell them to get to know each other better.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Big Decisions…and Abraham. That Smell In My House? Yeah, We’re Potty Training.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeri Ann  |  July 21, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    good idea. maybe that would entertain my boys for a while. LOL!

    Reply
  • 2. Hannah  |  July 23, 2009 at 1:44 am

    sorry, i can’t resist chiming in. you would SO do a dating reality show….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


