Aidan Just Calls Him “Boots”

July 30, 2009 at 4:25 am Leave a comment

Last Thursday night, the family and I loaded up and drove down to South Jackson (yes, I capitalize South. I realize it’s a direction, but it’s a city unto itself to me. So there.)

We were taking supper to my grandparents. They are super cool people, but not feeling too great these days, so we wanted to help out a bit. When I asked Mamaw what they would eat, she gave me specific instructions and even offered the recipe. Hey, no complaints here, it made my job VERY easy! 

The older kids love going to their house. The house is big, and built in a way that you can run through all the rooms and halls and it makes a big circle. Then the yard is enormous and has a long brick wall that divides their yard from their neighbors. I can’t remember going over there as a child (and we were there several times a week) and not walking on that long, low wall. Now my kids walk it, up and down, up and down.

100_7409

My mother has told me that she walked the wall as a child herself, so that makes over 50 years of kids playing on those old bricks. 

For some reason, that’s really special to me. 

100_7414

I have talked to my grandparents on the phone very often. I see them at family gatherings all the time. However, I had not been to their house since Christmas. I admired the new furniture arrangement and checked out all of the cucumbers my grandmother had sliced to make her famous sweet pickles. 

We ate dinner and had a fun time talking about all the things the kids are doing and have done this summer. I was so proud that they were funny and friendly and attentive to their great-grandparents. 

Aidan did not want to have his picture made AT ALL, so there are none of him. But the girls are always okay with the camera! 

100_7423

Paisley has never really had a chance to get to know Mamaw and Papaw. The older two can remember when we lived across the street from them 3 years ago. We found out we were having Paiz right before we moved up here to Canton, so she has never spent the time in their house that Aidan and Molly have. 

Paisley definitely made up for any lost time! She hugged and kissed and laughed and sang and did all of her tricks. She became very attached to Mamaw, and I could not be more thankful for that. 

Papaw pulled out a pen and paper and started drawing forest animals for Aidan. Aidan watched him, then took the pen and drew a picture of Papaw. He smiled up at him and said, “This is you, Boots!” 

My papaw goes by Boots to everyone that knows him. His name is W.B. (the real names will not be revealed to protect the innocent), but everyone calls him Boots. My kids have always called him Papaw Boots. Aidan just decided that “Boots” sounded cooler, so he called him that all night. We all just laughed. I hope Papaw was okay with it! 

I do know, he was certainly okay with this:

100_7425

He is just the sweetest man. I love them both so much. 

So we had a big time. I think everyone was worn out by the time we left. I hope we can do that a lot more in the coming months. 

As long as Mamaw tells me what to bring…and she will.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

That Smell In My House? Yeah, We’re Potty Training. A Bird’s Eye View

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Cut my hair yesterday. Had a stress dream that I had forgotten today was my wedding and my hair was now too short. It's been a long summer. 2 weeks ago
  • Up at 5 almost every day. Practice 3 hrs/day. Eating right. This has been our summer, and it paid off. So proud of my girls and our team! 3 weeks ago
  • @CoachDavidOrr So proud of every Sunkist swimmer! We love our swim family! Thank you for a great State Meet! 3 weeks ago
  • Last night I learned that Molly swims in her sleep. She hit me in the face with a strong backstroke. She cut time- my sleep time. 3 weeks ago
  • I'm learning that social media allows us to never ask each other how we are. We assume we know. We don't. 1 month ago

