A Bird’s Eye View

July 31, 2009 at 4:39 am Leave a comment

I seriously need pictures for this post. 

You won’t get the full idea. I’m not that good of a storyteller. But go with me here…

About a year or so ago, we found an empty bird’s nest in our backyard. Aidan was taken with it, and fascinated with how a little bird could build such a structure, with sides and a bottom, just big enough for baby birds to live in. It really is quite amazing, actually. 

He picked up the nest and wanted to put it in another tree. It’s been in a small tree in our front yard for a long time now. I haven’t thought about it in months. 

About two weeks ago, Molly wanted to look in the nest. What a cool surprise it was to find three beautiful little eggs in there! They were a beautiful shade of aqua, with brown spots. We were all so excited and watched them every day. Personally, I was excited because the eggs were quite trendy in color and pattern, but I was alone in my aesthetic enthusiasm. 

A few days after the great egg discovery, we found that they hatched! There were three tiny little brown fur balls in that nest. Every time one of us would walk toward the tree, the mama bird would squawk at us from her perch on the power line. We would see her constantly hunting for food for her babies. It has been a source of enjoyment and wonder for us to watch her take care of them. I can totally relate to that mama. We both spend most of our days hunting for food for our young. Lucky her, though, she only has a 6″x6″ area to keep straight. 

Back to the present. Today, I was frustrated again about the house not selling. I was frustrated again about homeschooling and not feeling ready to take on such an enormous task. I was frustrated about having to send my baby (Paisley) to school, when I really do not want to. 

I walked down to our mailbox, and stopped to check on the birds. We’ve had some bad weather this week, and I haven’t actually seen the mother bird in a day or so, and I was a little bit concerned about what I would find. 

This is where I wish I had the camera. 

In the nest were three little “bird children”, as Aidan called them. “They’re not babies, mom, but they’re not big enough to leave, so they’re bird children.” Their feathers were starting to develop spots and patterns, and they were not just fuzzy anymore. They were wide eyed and alert, sitting in a row in that little nest. They had grown from being the size of a teaspoon to about the size of my palm. I was again awed and fascinated. 

I sent Michael an email telling him that I checked on “our” birds and they were fine, and growing. I sent the email, and immediately had this verse from Matthew chapter 6 impressed upon my heart. 

25“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? 26Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

 28“And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? 31So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

So I compose another email to Michael with this scripture in it. At the SAME TIME, he sent me an email saying the same thing, but in his own words. 

The funny thing is, right after I sent the email with the verse, our internet went out because we had another bad bit of weather. I watched the wind blow some limbs down in my yard. I watched my For Sale sign hang completely horizontal in the gusty winds. I stood at the french doors in my bedroom and watched that tree and prayed for those baby birds. I knew that God would take care of them, that he made animals to be able to handle the elements, but I was still worried. 

After the storm passed, the internet came back on, and there was Michael’s email telling me that if God protects the birds, surely he will take care of us as well. Our emails crossed somewhere in cyberspace, but the time lag gave me a chance to think about the verse I had just sent to my husband and then watch those baby birds weather the storm in that small, frail, little tree and realize that God really does hold them in the palm of his hand. 

And if he holds the birds in his hand, we can rest assured that the creator of all living things holds us in his heart. 

I know I’ve been redundant about the house thing, and the homeschooling thing. I sincerely covet your prayers. I believe that God has a perfect plan for us. I am grateful beyond words that I am married to a man who believes that and will not settle for less than God’s plan. Not once has Michael tried to maneuver the situation by himself. We truly want God to get complete credit for whatever happens. 

By not trusting, I’m not walking what I talk. I don’t want to live like that at all. So if I say I love and trust my Jesus, then I will trust him. I will trust the one who holds the birds, and protects them in the storms. I will rest in his perfect love and find joy in the hope that he will keep his promise and it will be more than we could ever ask for or think. 

For his eye is on the sparrow, and I know he watches me.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Aidan Just Calls Him “Boots” She Takes After Her Daddy

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • RT @Dodgers: HERO. #ThisTeam https://t.co/tUQ3UsJTA3 1 day ago
  • I’ve looked forward to church today since I left the parking lot last Sunday. Grateful for @gccjxn ! 2 days ago
  • Just sitting here, basking in the realization that my kids are too old for the pumpkin patch. I’m thrilled at this development. 6 days ago
  • My whole family wishes they’d send Iris into the speed force on #TheFlash. First episode of season 4 and she’s already making us mad. 6 days ago
  • Paisley: “who’s winning the game?” Michael: “the Cubs are ahead.” P: “they’re beating Walgreens?” That “W” throws her off every time. 1 week ago

