That’s The Way, Uh Huh Uh Huh, I Like It

August 17, 2009 at 4:03 am 2 comments

This weekend was BUSY. 

I relish the business, because it was all FUN busy, not BORING busy. I have officially met my social needs for a while, so homeschooling this week shouldn’t be that big of a deal. I probably could use a little bit of home time. 

Friday was a girls’ night out to celebrate the birthday of a sweet friend. Except for the air not working well at the restaurant and feeling like I might be permanently stuck to the vinyl booth, it was a wonderful time. My friends make me laugh, and after last week, that was exactly what I needed. 

I raced home to start cooking and cleaning, because Saturday was going to start bright and early for me. I finished my casseroles and got everyone’s clothes ready and the house somewhat clean. 

Saturday morning, I was up at 6:30. That’s just wrong for Saturday. I dressed and headed down to Madison to prepare for a baby shower for Hannah, one of my friends from college. Hannah just had baby Caleb in May, so we all got to love on him. We brought our kids (some of them, at least) and our moms and had a large time. 

100_7535Notice how lovely and dressed up my girlfriends are, and the tank top and ponytail on me. I arrived wearing a dress, and was almost on equal cuteness ground with them, but had to change clothes to go to a church wiffleball tournament. As soon as I changed clothes, they decided to take pictures. At least I took my hat off. 

sc00582495This is the same group of girls…the year we all became friends at MC. We were all freshmen, and trying to figure out who we were then. We’ve certainly made our mark on the world, I think, each in her own way. And now we’re all mothers. We’ve grown up and grown away from each other in distance. We’ve made new friends and moved on. But the memories I have with these girls are permanent and some of the best things that have ever happened to me have happened with them. I am so glad that God put them at that place in that time. I could not have done college or the years after without them. I love them all so much. 

Oh, and two of these couples in the picture are now married. How cool is that? 

I had to leave the baby shower early and race over to Liberty Park. I missed the first game, but was really okay with that, because I don’t need to sweat profusely twice in one day. I knew the second game would be enough perspiring for the weekend. We took the field and after a LOT of trash talk between our team and the yayhoos that attempted to beat us, we finished the game. Yep, just finished. There was no score. Everybody wins in church wiffleball. 

My kind of game. 

When I got to the game, I was so excited to see my friend Jessica. She was in our youth group a few years ago and babysat for my older two kids. She is now all grown up with a great job, and a future that shows nothing but wonderful for her. She played ball with us and helped keep my kids from eating dirt. 

After the game, we cleaned up and went to the store. We had fun company and spent the evening playing the Wii and letting Jess beat us all in a raucous game of bowling. 

She went to church with us this morning and got to experience the craziness of promotion Sunday. We ate our leftovers for lunch and she had to go back home. My girls cried. Paisley clung to Jess’s leg and said, “No leave me!” It was really funny and sad at the same time. 

100_7542We love Miss Jessica. She’s family. 

After Jessica’s departure, we found that a puppy has been living in our carport all day. His mama is around here somewhere, we saw her this morning. This beautiful little black dog has been hanging out in the shrubs beside our house. He needs to go to the vet, and really should go back to his mama, because I think he belongs to someone. We are hoping she comes back tonight. We gave him food and water because he’s so little and it’s so hot outside, but he can’t stay here. We have a strict “no pets” policy here at Hotel Albritton. I can’t look at him, because it makes my heart hurt. I hope his mama comes back. I really hope his mama comes back. 

Tonight was a children’s choir kick off, so we loaded back up and headed back to Madison. It will be so nice if we can ever live there. It’s a LONG drive. 

So there you have it…my wonderful, social, busy, hug-filled weekend. I am exhausted and could sleep for about 12 hours straight, but I know that would never happen, I might miss something! 

Someone told me today, “You are very proactive. You like to make things happen.” Yep, me in a nutshell. I love action. Weekends like this make me happy. 

But don’t ask me to do anything tomorrow.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Day One. I Don’t Think the Neighbors Would Buy It

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hannah  |  August 22, 2009 at 12:10 am

    can you believe there are 14 years between those two pics of us? i love it. thanks for a happy day saturday – such fun!

    Reply
  • 2. Kim Loustalot  |  September 2, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    Oh my goodness! Flashback to Laguna days. I almost didn’t recognize some of the girls until I looked at the MC pic!! I know yall had a blast. I’ve got to call Hannah and touch base. We only connected 1x, right after you were here, and then she had Caleb, etc. Sounds like you have a lot going on!! My neighbor, with triplets, just moved to Madison. It’s the gluckstadt exit, I think, and she actually will have a Canton address. I told her I would give you her name. She’s unchurched. Wants to get the kids back into church. Grew up Catholic. Kinda anti-Baptist, but I’m still passing along the names of some churches I know. What’s yours again? She’ll only be there 2 years, then they are planning on coming back here.

    That’s hilarious about your oufit, btw! Kim

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


