I Don’t Think the Neighbors Would Buy It

August 19, 2009 at 3:54 am 1 comment

So tonight I’m chatting with a friend about school fundraisers and she made the comment that homeschooling was good because I don’t have to raise any money. 

But that got me thinkin’…what if I sent Aidan and Molly out into the streets, knocking on doors, selling candy bars or whatnot? 

I made the comment that I don’t think my family would let me be the administrator of our earnings. You see, spending fundraiser cash at a boutique probably doesn’t help the homeschooling situation, except that I’d look awesome while teaching, but I’d be mad because nobody would see me, and then it would all be in vain. 

So my friend says the money would have to be for technology or a playground. I immediately thought an iphone would benefit our homeschooling in more ways than I can count. 

I told Michael. He laughed…AT me. 

So…I’ve been thinking. If we had a fundraiser (which we won’t, this is all a joke), what would we use the money for?

1. A maid. Because mama can’t do it all. 

2. Some sort of contraption that shocks the kids when they whine. I know that’s really bad parenting, but you haven’t walked in my flip flops. 

3. A garden in the backyard, and a gardener to tend to it. I want the kids to eat fresh stuff, but every time I work in the yard, I get poison ivy. Seriously, that has happened all three times. 

4. Desks for the kids to sit in, rather than at the table. I mean the desks they had at Whitten Jr. High in the early nineties in the ISS room. (In School Suspension, for those of you who had classier punishment titles.) These desks had really high walls around them, so the students could not see one another. I could put Aidan in one, and Molly in the other, and peace could be restored in the kingdom. 

5. A pencil sharpener that works. I bought one last week and it eats my pencils. Then they fight over the pencils that are actually sharp. The pencil fight makes me want to cry. 

6. A cheerleading squad that would chant while Aidan is trying to write: “You can do it! Go, Go, GO!” The kid needs some motivation. 

7. Chickfila lunch for a year. 

8. A gym membership because of all the chicken, and to get us movin’. 

9. A field trip to The Electric Company. Aidan thinks we need to go there and hang out with those people. 

10. A substitute teacher to come in and teach writing…so I can sit up in the bed with my book. 

So obviously a fund raiser is out of the question…but fun to think about! Things are going well, we have good and bad days. 

This week’s verse: Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. Proverbs 3:5. 

Sounds good to me. My own understanding is usually pretty messed up anyway.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

That’s The Way, Uh Huh Uh Huh, I Like It I Drank a Coke, Then Took a Nap

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer  |  August 19, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    That just made me laugh out loud! And how do you know about the desks in ISS…I never had to go in that room….is there something you need to confess? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Listening to a 90's Country playlist. My son is bewildered by "Prop Me Up Beside the Jukebox When I Die." Me too, dude. Me too. 1 day ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace frees you from fear of the future because it tells you wherever you go whatever you do, your Savior will… 4 days ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace meets you with hope in the present because it guarantees you everything you need for life and godliness. 4 days ago
  • Twice today I've opened the fridge to put groceries in that go in the pantry. I'm helping Monday live up to the hype. 2 weeks ago
  • Sitting by Aidan during the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie was more fun than the movie itself. He doesn't just watch. He experiences. 3 weeks ago

