It’s Quality, Not Quantity…

September 13, 2009 at 8:49 pm Leave a comment

But I want BOTH!

I realize today that I have only posted 5 times in a MONTH. Y’all, it used to be 5 times in a week!

Life is clearly taking off at breakneck speed, and I’m caught in the wake of it all.

If I could, and in my dreams I do…I would have a full day every week to write, to sing, to rest, to read my Bible, to paint my toenails, to go through my outfits and decide what accessories I might need for Fall, to peruse magazines and websites and make a notebook of design ideas for my next house (which is a dream in itself). I would play in my makeup and learn to put it on better. I would try new hair products. I would watch Cosby Show reruns on YouTube and laugh. I would go for a walk and get my heart rate above its usual molasses pace. I would call a buddy and shoot the breeze.

But such a day is not going to happen, and while it’s fun to think about, would probably be way too indulgent for me anyway.

So I carve out a few minutes here and there. I paint three toenails, change a pullup, fix a cup of juice, glue an action figure’s head back on, and then paint the other two, hoping that the other foot will get painted before I have to make a public appearance.

And when I do have to go somewhere, and look down and see three of ten nails a sweet shade of blue, while the other seven are a lovely au natural, I think of the faces that I kissed, the giggles that I heard, the songs that we sung, the games that were played and I realize that I’m content with my new fashion statement. It’s a look I like to call, Just Be Thankful I Got Here Dressed.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Why It Is Weird to be Me (Or, What Happened Today in Real Estate) Is It Really Easier?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Cut my hair yesterday. Had a stress dream that I had forgotten today was my wedding and my hair was now too short. It's been a long summer. 3 weeks ago
  • Up at 5 almost every day. Practice 3 hrs/day. Eating right. This has been our summer, and it paid off. So proud of my girls and our team! 3 weeks ago
  • @CoachDavidOrr So proud of every Sunkist swimmer! We love our swim family! Thank you for a great State Meet! 3 weeks ago
  • Last night I learned that Molly swims in her sleep. She hit me in the face with a strong backstroke. She cut time- my sleep time. 4 weeks ago
  • I'm learning that social media allows us to never ask each other how we are. We assume we know. We don't. 1 month ago

