Then We All Held Hands and Sang “We Are The World”

September 28, 2009 at 4:31 am 1 comment

I learned something about myself this weekend.

I think I already knew it though, so it was more of a re-affirmation. If that’s even a real thing.

Anyway, where was I?

I learned that I love big masses of people gathered together for a single purpose.

That’s it in a nutshell. I could stop now, but then it wouldn’t be worth the time you’re wasting at work.

Michael and I got tickets to the MSU vs. LSU game in Starkville on Saturday. We passed off the kids to the people they like even better than us, and hit the road. It was wet and muddy. There were people everywhere, getting drenched. We parked over a mile from the stadium and walked through mud to get there.

I’ve not been that happy in a long time.

I told Michael that walking through a storm in a crowd with mud everywhere would be a nightmare with kids, but is the perfect day when it is just us. I can’t explain that.

The game was fantastic. I mean, it didn’t end well, but good grief, the excitement alone made it worth every minute. The crowd’s energy was awesome. The school spirit and single-mindedness of the event was overwhelming.

I LOVE THAT.

I think that’s why I love concerts. In New Orleans last January, I was one of thousands of people who love Brad Paisley. We were all there in that room, singing his songs and screaming our lungs out.

Again, it’s that singular focus thing.

I’m going to see Beth Moore at a Living Proof event in less than two weeks. I am excited about her teaching, but I am ECSTATIC about the worship time. I get to go with my mom. We haven’t had many experiences where we just get to worship together without one of us being tied up with choir or kids or something. To be in a room with that many women would normally make me a nervous wreck. I don’t like girly events. But to join in worship with women who are focused on what God is going to do that weekend is awesome.

That is one of the reasons I love church. People go for lots of reasons, but when you get in the sanctuary, it’s obvious that our staff has worked hard to make sure that we put our focus where it needs to be. And then we all are joined by a bond that only comes from Christ.

Along the same lines, but totally superficial…this is why I love the Canton Flea Market. Thousands of people joining together to shop? Yes, please.

So in my self-discovery this weekend I realized that I like being part of the crowd. Not necessarily the in-crowd, but a crowd simply made up of lots of people doing the same thing.

And throw in some candle lighting and someone playing Kum Ba Yah, and I’m in heaven.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Is It Really Easier? Long Time, No See

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Etesirefs  |  December 11, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Stunning blogpost, I did not thought reading this was going to be so awesome when I klicked at the link.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


