I Have a Vision…

October 18, 2009 at 2:14 am 1 comment

Oops, let me change that to “I HAVE VISION.”

Because I have not had a vision, and as of yesterday, I can see across the room unassisted.

Lasik is a beautiful, beautiful thing, my friends.

You want to hear about it? I’m gonna tell you.

My doctor, Dr. Smith, is the greatest guy. He’s related to me, so that gives him some points to start with, but he’s pretty cool on his own. When I was a kid, I LOVED for him to come babysit us. He’s really awesome.

So I got up yesterday and was allowed to eat! What surgery allows you to eat beforehand? Anyway, we got to the surgical center and I was plenty nervous. They called me back and took blood pressure and temperature and got my information.

Then the nurse drew two really attractive purple dots above each eye. Stunning.

And because I wasn’t QUITE cute enough, she painted yellow solution all around my eyes. You have never seen anything so gorgeous. I have pictures, yes I do, but I also have pride.

Then I took the valium they handed me. Oh, wonderful, precious valium. It was nice to have you in my life.

Then my doc came and got me, and we went into the room with the big laser machine. I laid down in the chair, and they made sure I was completely comfortable. I took my shoes off, they gave me a stuffed frog to squeeze and we got down to business. I never dreamed I would find so much comfort from a stuffed frog.

The engineer who works the Lasik machine was super nice. He made sure I was relaxed, and made me practice talking without moving my head. THIS WAS A FEAT OF GREAT SKILL AND MAGNITUDE, MY FRIENDS.

They taped my eyelashes down (a little freaky), then propped open my eyelids (very freaky). They told me it would go dark, and it did. Then I could see the orange blinking light. I focused on the light and took deep breaths. I tried to recall any scripture I had in my mental files, but all I could think of was “What time I am afraid, I will trust in Thee. Psalm 56:3”. Thank you, Bible Drill.

There was a vibration, that was the only thing I could feel. Then the laser did its job. Then they irrigated it, and I could feel the wet. After that, it was just light. I focused on the light, and relaxed. I could feel nothing, but was very aware when they put my iris back in place (I KNOW!) and then smoothed my cornea over. It was cool to see the doc using this little brush thing to smooth out my eyeball. Then they moved over and did the other eye.

When it was over (10 minutes total), I sat up and could read the digital clock on the wall.

I received my eyedrops and instructions (no eye makeup for 10 days! WHAT?!) and we headed home. Total time was maybe an hour and a half. By the time we left, I felt really woozy, the valium was doing its thing. Michael and I were both hungry, so we headed to Sweet Peppers, at noon, with everyone else in the world. I had no makeup on, these really cool Stevie Wonder looking glasses, and could barely walk straight. We walked in, and Michael saw one of our friends who had a good laugh at my expense. Lunch was good, but I almost fell asleep in my crawfish bisque.

I put my sleeping goggles (I’m so cool) on when we got to my parents’ house and was asleep before I laid down. Exactly 2 hours later, I woke up, startled. I realized where I was and what I had done. I threw off the goggles and looked around. I could see pictures on the wall. I could read book titles on the shelf. The adrenaline rush I had at this moment was huge.

I was still a bit loopy for the day, but as the day went on, it got better and better. This morning was incredible. I could see the small print on billboards on the interstate. I went by my doc’s office and he did a quick check: 20/20 and moving toward 20/15.

It was an amazing experience. I’m so thankful to have had the chance to do it.

I’m going to put my goggles on and go to bed. You know how Snoopy looks when he becomes The Red Baron? Yep. That’s me.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Long Time, No See I Have No Idea Why I Care.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Holly  |  October 21, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    I’ve considered Lasik, but it’s always scared me! Your experience actually makes it sound ok.

    (I came over from Tasty Kitchen, by the way!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Cut my hair yesterday. Had a stress dream that I had forgotten today was my wedding and my hair was now too short. It's been a long summer. 3 weeks ago
  • Up at 5 almost every day. Practice 3 hrs/day. Eating right. This has been our summer, and it paid off. So proud of my girls and our team! 3 weeks ago
  • @CoachDavidOrr So proud of every Sunkist swimmer! We love our swim family! Thank you for a great State Meet! 3 weeks ago
  • Last night I learned that Molly swims in her sleep. She hit me in the face with a strong backstroke. She cut time- my sleep time. 4 weeks ago
  • I'm learning that social media allows us to never ask each other how we are. We assume we know. We don't. 1 month ago

