Stick In The Mud

October 29, 2009 at 4:06 am Leave a comment

Today was a bad day.

I mean, a cry over a big piece of cake and a glass of milk kind of bad day. (Although that sounds like a good day…whatever.)

Anyway, in the midst of the prayer and concern that is a constant for my grandmother, and now my sweet nephew Jack, Paisley got sick. I knew it was the flu, so I took her in to see the pediatrician. Of course, because we homeschool, I had to take all three kids because I have no drop-off options during the day.

The threats to hang them by their toes and pull their eyelashes out if they talked while the doctor was talking worked pretty well.

As we were sitting in the waiting room, my phone rang. Now, I don’t just have a regular ringtone. My tone is Paisley, singing “Jesus Loves Me” at the TOP of her two year old lungs. I think it’s hilarious. People around me apparently do not.

It was my realtor, and any call from her is welcome, day or night. She informed me that someone was coming to see my house in two and a half hours.  I was in Madison, 20 minutes away, waiting to see the doctor. My husband was out of town. Our house was not a pigsty, but it was what I like to call “Dad’s gone, and Mom’s hanging in there” state.

The visit went quickly, Paiz has the swine flu. We’re stocked with Motrin, all is going to be well.

I raced home and pulled into the driveway. We got out of the van and I told the kids, “Do NOT ask me for anything. Your Nonna (my sweet mama) is coming to get you so I can get this house clean in a hurry. Sit in front of the TV and do NOT move until she gets here!”

Aidan looked at me with that skinny face, his big dark eyes amazed. “Mama?” he said. “You’ve NEVER said that to us before!”

“What?” I asked.

“You’ve never told us to go sit in front of the TV. That’s so cool!” He was most impressed.

In the midst of the craziness of today, I think I reached hero status with my little boy. And on a day like this, I’ll take it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I Have No Idea Why I Care. When All Else Fails…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • RT @Dodgers: HERO. #ThisTeam https://t.co/tUQ3UsJTA3 1 day ago
  • I’ve looked forward to church today since I left the parking lot last Sunday. Grateful for @gccjxn ! 2 days ago
  • Just sitting here, basking in the realization that my kids are too old for the pumpkin patch. I’m thrilled at this development. 6 days ago
  • My whole family wishes they’d send Iris into the speed force on #TheFlash. First episode of season 4 and she’s already making us mad. 6 days ago
  • Paisley: “who’s winning the game?” Michael: “the Cubs are ahead.” P: “they’re beating Walgreens?” That “W” throws her off every time. 1 week ago

