When All Else Fails…

November 2, 2009 at 4:18 am 2 comments

Curl up on your bed and write.

That will be my new mantra. If I actually thought a mantra was something I needed. I don’t need a mantra, because then I’m stuck with using one particular saying and just in case you haven’t noticed, I change my mind a lot.

I am starting a new week, and it is not looking promising at this point, but you can bet your bottom dollar it will be better than last week.

Last week may go down as the medal winner for stinkiest, most horrendous weeks ever.

But I believe all statements like that are relative. I mean, I’m sure there was a finals week while in college when I thought it was the worst week ever, and it probably was during that time of my life. Then there were weeks of breakups in high school or college that were the worst week ever at that time. Then there was friend drama, which always made it the worst week ever. Then there was the first trimester, which was 12 worst weeks ever, 3 different times!

So it’s all relative. I realize that.

So…last week was a whopper. But now it’s Sunday, and we get to start over.

I experienced some heartbreak this weekend. I heard a new song on the radio, by Britney Spears. I did not choose the station, I was in an eating establishment. The song came on, and I had read a little bit about it here and there, but had never heard it. I went home and googled the lyrics and my heart broke at the utter and total moral decay in the song’s words.

I don’t like Britney, I never have. But I know that God loves her and that Jesus wants her to know him. That reason alone keeps me from being really, really ugly about her recording a song with such a vile message.

The song is celebrating a perversion of what God has intended for a husband and wife’s physical relationship. In the song, the lyrics claim that it is sin, because it says “Livin’ in sin is the new thing”. So we know the songwriter recognizes that the act being sung about is wrong.

I was sitting with my two sweet daughters in an ice cream shop yesterday and the song came on the radio. I wanted so badly to ask the manger to turn the radio off or down until the song changed. I am ashamed now that I didn’t do it. I know my girls don’t understand, but I don’t want them to even dance to the beat. The beautiful, precious, sweet teenage girls I teach every Sunday knew the song. It breaks my heart that they have become so desensitized to lyrics that praise a lifestyle completely away from God. They don’t agree with the song, they just don’t think anything at all. I wish people could get offended to the point that we would leave stores or restaurants when songs like that are playing. But we don’t. We keep eating or shopping and ignore the tiny little chisels that chip away at our need for purity and make us more and more tolerant of impurity.

I’m not saying we should be self-righteous jerks, heavens no. I just wonder if the days of standing up for what is right are over.

Britney Spears is counting on the latter. She gets the paycheck, no matter the cost to us.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Stick In The Mud The In-Flight Wifi is to Blame

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer  |  November 2, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    Amen!

    Reply
  • 2. Karen McGee  |  November 3, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    Because of young women like yourself, who give your time to teach these young girls, they DO think about these things…maybe not today or tomorrow, but at some time your words will overshadow the lyrics of those songs. Yes, they will have to make a decision about whether to listen to it, protest it, or just keep silent. But you have showed them what is right. The Holy Spirit will prompt them when they recall all you have said to them. Keep sharing your thoughts with them, keep teaching them the Word. It will put a new song in their heart and help drown out the words in their ears.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


