The In-Flight Wifi is to Blame

November 4, 2009 at 3:37 am Leave a comment

Michael is flying home right now.

He lost his Blackberry last weekend and we have been disconnected without it, obviously. I was really worried about this trip. I was afraid we wouldn’t be able to communicate at all.

But no! He was able to use his computer on the plane!

You see, I travel so little that I had no idea you could get internet while in flight. It makes sense, though. You’re closer to the satellites than we are down here…right?

So we have emailed back and forth while he flies the friendly skies and have discussed all manner of important topics, the most crucial of which is the fact that Brad Paisley is coming to the coast pretty soon.

My birthday is in January. This would be 2 years in a row of seeing him for my birthday. I cannot, in good conscience, pass this opportunity by. We MUST keep the tradition!!!

So, I’m perusing the Brad Paisley site, looking for information, and realized that if I join the fan club, there might be a possibility for advance tickets.

I have always said I would NEVER join a fan club. I will NOT be a groupie. I will NEVER pay money to be a part of group that writes on message boards how much they love this song or that song.

I joined the fan club.

It wasn’t much money at all, so that’s not the issue. I just feel like I sold out and became one of those women who wear Rebel flag tshirts and tight jeans and go line dancing. (Do people still line dance? I have no idea. Which is why I’m too old to be joining a fan club.)

I just wanted the chance at advance tickets. That’s all, I promise. I will not be posting pictures of me wearing a lampshade on my head. (Thankfully, nobody does that at his current shows, that was so 2 years ago.)

Last year, we got awesome seats 2 weeks before the concert in New Orleans. I have no idea how that happened, I just walked by my computer one afternoon, checked Ticketmaster, and there they were on the 16th row. I grabbed my card and purchased them, and made plans for one of the most fun 4 hours I’ve ever had in my whole entire life.

So can I do it again, now that I’m a member of the club? There was a disclaimer that said sometimes concerts don’t do the advance tickets. I may have joined for nothing, because I’m not going to drive more than 3 hours, or get on a plane to go see anybody. I have 3 kids that need me and I don’t want them going to church saying, “my mama flew to Phoenix to go see Brad Paisley because she’s in the fan club!”

I would die of embarrassment.

So I choose to tell the internet. Because that’s so much smarter.

I’m telling you, that in-flight email discussion with my generous, loving husband who encouraged me to join apparently sucked the common sense out of my brain.

But if I’m on the front row, come February, I’m the smartest girl in the world.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

When All Else Fails… So…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • RT @Dodgers: HERO. #ThisTeam https://t.co/tUQ3UsJTA3 1 day ago
  • I’ve looked forward to church today since I left the parking lot last Sunday. Grateful for @gccjxn ! 2 days ago
  • Just sitting here, basking in the realization that my kids are too old for the pumpkin patch. I’m thrilled at this development. 6 days ago
  • My whole family wishes they’d send Iris into the speed force on #TheFlash. First episode of season 4 and she’s already making us mad. 6 days ago
  • Paisley: “who’s winning the game?” Michael: “the Cubs are ahead.” P: “they’re beating Walgreens?” That “W” throws her off every time. 1 week ago

