Home for Christmas

December 18, 2009 at 4:11 pm 1 comment

My mamaw went to be with Jesus today.

I miss her so much. I have never truly experienced loss to this degree before. I feel so sad, and yet I am truly happy for her.

Pray for my sweet Papaw. They were married 63 years.

Pray for my Uncle Steve, My Mama, and my Aunt Lisa.

And all the rest of us that love her with all of our hearts.

Steven Curtis Chapman sang this on his first Christmas album, and it’s on my mind today:

“Going Home for Christmas”

Her house was where the family gathered every Christmas eve;
A feast was set on the table and gifts were placed beneath the tree.
Everything was picture perfect, Grandpa would laugh and say,
That woman spends the whole year getting ready for this day.

One year the leaves began to fall and her health began to fade;
We moved her to a place where they could watch her night and day.
But she kept making plans for Christmas from her little room;
She told everyone, I’ll miss you but I’ll be leaving soon.

I’m going home for Christmas and I’m going home to stay;
I’m going home for Christmas and nothing’s gonna keep me away.
I’ll be with the ones I love to celebrate the Savior’s birth;
This gift will be worth more to me than anything on earth.
I’m going home, home for Christmas.

All the leaves outside have fallen to be covered by the snow;
The family comes with food and gifts and Grandpa comes alone.
There’s a sadness in our silence as the Christmas story’s read,
And with tears, Grandpa reminds us of the words that Grandma said.

I’m going home for Christmas and I’m going home to stay;
I’m going home for Christmas and nothing’s gonna keep me away.
She’ll be face to face with Jesus as we celebrate His birth,
And this gift will be worth more to her than anything on earth,
‘Cause she’ll be home.

And as we sing ‘Joy to the World’ I can’t help thinking
Of the joy that’s shining in her eyes right now.
And though our hearts still ache, we know that as we celebrate,
She’s singing with the herald angels and heaven’s glowing on her face.

And now she’s home for Christmas and now she’s home to stay;
She’s home for Christmas, and nothin’ could’ve kept her away.
She’ll be face to face with Jesus, as we celebrate His birth,
And this gift will be worth more to her than anything on earth.
She’s home, she’s home for Christmas.
She is home, she’s home for Christmas.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Mamaw Out With The Old…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  December 18, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    Oh Ann, I am so sorry! There is not a day goes by that I don’t think of my Mama Maye and wish she was here with me! I’ll be praying for you and your family! God bless you all during this difficult!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Listening to a 90's Country playlist. My son is bewildered by "Prop Me Up Beside the Jukebox When I Die." Me too, dude. Me too. 1 day ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace frees you from fear of the future because it tells you wherever you go whatever you do, your Savior will… 4 days ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace meets you with hope in the present because it guarantees you everything you need for life and godliness. 4 days ago
  • Twice today I've opened the fridge to put groceries in that go in the pantry. I'm helping Monday live up to the hype. 2 weeks ago
  • Sitting by Aidan during the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie was more fun than the movie itself. He doesn't just watch. He experiences. 3 weeks ago

