‘Tis Love That Makes the World Go Round

February 15, 2010 at 3:57 am 1 comment

Happy Valentine’s Day!

We don’t do Valentine’s around here. No big reason, it’s not a religious or political thing, I just think it’s kind of silly. I mean, we do the cards for the kids to take to school and church. I might get them a happy here and there (but of course, I forgot this year) but Michael and I don’t do much of anything at all.

Because he really tries to show me that he loves me every day.

I can’t begin to tell you how grateful I am for that. I am one of those people who loves people easily. I enjoy people and like to let them know they are special to me. Michael is much more introverted and while he is the nicest person alive, he is not as outward in his expressions of love as I am. Except with me.

We both have a lot going on right now, so shopping for one another was not an option. So we consider last weekend on the coast our gift and we’ll move on from there.

Oh, last weekend? It was great. The show was great, at least Brad Paisley’s part. I do not like the first guy or Miranda Lambert AT ALL. They were just a little too beer-drinky-redneck for me. They left me with the feeling of “so…anybody could be a country singer, apparently.”

Then Brad came on and between the singing, playing, songwriting, animation, video, and everything else that he does himself, I realized that not just anybody can be a country singer. At least not at that level. What he can do is amazing.

So we had fun, followed by a busy week, then a snow day! Molly had a blast. Aidan and Paisley had a blast for about an hour. They’re wimps. Michael and I probably had the most fun, there is just nothing like hitting your special someone in the face with a snowball numerous times to show your love for them.

We talked for a long time last night about our very first Valentine’s day. When we started dating in 1997, it was in January, and Michael was supposed to come home for Valentine’s to see me. About a week before, I felt very convicted about us not being on the same page in our spiritual walks. I knew I could love him, but he was not a Christian, and that was the most important thing to me. I called him and broke the date. We stayed very close friends, and I prayed for him daily. We went our separate ways and a year later, God began to really work in his heart and change his mind. We started seeing each other again and I went to Starkville for Valentine’s Day. It was our first “real” date in over a year. I remember going jogging that day, watching tv that afternoon, and then going to get ready for our date that night. I got all dressed up, and when I came down the stairs, it was if something switched on that I had never experienced before in my life. I had dated a good bit, some nice…some were weirdos. But until that minute, I don’t know that I had ever felt so happy, so expectant, so comfortable in my life.

It was like God was saying, “This is good. This is right. This is what you’ve been praying for.” Michael seemed to look at me with new eyes, and I felt the same. We had been friends at that point for five years, and I loved him in that way very much. Then that evening I knew it was different. God was there, guiding us and showing us things about each other that made us so exactly right for one another.

We drove to the nearby town of Columbus and ate at a restaurant called Portobella (or was it Portobello? Like the mushroom?) Anyway, I remember sitting there eating thinking, “My whole life is different now. It’s better.” And it was great to begin with! We laughed a lot, and never had a moment of silence. He was still my best friend, but so much more.

So I guess I should love the holiday a bit more. My life changed on Valentine’s Day. Maybe I don’t want to cheapen what is such a special landmark in our relationship with wilted flowers and chocolates. I don’t know. I’d like to think that the date with Michael was special because it was with Michael, and not because of the holiday.

So we’re going to sit and watch Pairs Figure Skating on the Olympics and enjoy the company of each other. A lot of life has been lived since that first Valentine’s Day. I pray there will be many, many more uneventful holidays just like this one.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

If We Can Avoid the Crazy Saints Fans, It’s Gonna Be Awesome! Since I Don’t Write on Paper

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Carly Winborne  |  February 17, 2010 at 12:31 am

    I just re-found your blog. I love this post. Love, love, love it. I completely and totally understand that feeling of just knowing. Just. Knowing. Isn’t that the very best feeling?! Only God can do that.

    Last week Jordan Ann was really quiet and out of nowhere, she asked in her most serious voice, “Mommy, how will I know when it’s the right boy for me to marry.” Tears stung my eyes that very instant. Why is she wondering this already? But when the time comes, I can only pray she has that same feeling of “just knowing”.

    Thanks for your story. Thanks for your “from a distance” friendship.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • RT @Dodgers: HERO. #ThisTeam https://t.co/tUQ3UsJTA3 22 hours ago
  • I’ve looked forward to church today since I left the parking lot last Sunday. Grateful for @gccjxn ! 1 day ago
  • Just sitting here, basking in the realization that my kids are too old for the pumpkin patch. I’m thrilled at this development. 5 days ago
  • My whole family wishes they’d send Iris into the speed force on #TheFlash. First episode of season 4 and she’s already making us mad. 6 days ago
  • Paisley: “who’s winning the game?” Michael: “the Cubs are ahead.” P: “they’re beating Walgreens?” That “W” throws her off every time. 1 week ago

