I Love You, Get Out of My House.

March 2, 2010 at 5:22 am 2 comments

I realized something today.

I love my kids so much. I’d do anything for them. I am dedicated to their well-being, and pray every day that they will be content, well-adjusted people.

I just don’t feel sentimental towards them.

I don’t look at my house and think, “One day it will be clean in here, and I’ll miss their stuff lying around”. I don’t look at baby pictures and wish I could go back to that time. I don’t have emotional moments while going through their baby clothes.

Don’t get me wrong, I have enjoyed and made the most out of every phase. I am just not sentimental.

I started worrying today that there must be something wrong with me. I mean, surely I am a bad mother because I don’t scrapbook or even remember the camera for some of our more important events.

So I brought it up to my mom during our daily “drive at five” conversation (we talk after work most days). I explained that I love my children so much, but with all the fighting and screaming at each other, begging and demanding for food and toys, and the mess they create in every area of my house, I just don’t feel sentimental towards them. I said that there must be something the matter with me. That surely I should feel more mushy toward my kids and the fact that they are growing up so fast. I told her that I have a great marriage and I find myself looking forward to the day when it’s just US again. I told her that I have enjoyed every stage of their growing up, because they’re GROWING UP!

My mom says, “Do you not remember when you were engaged? After a month or so, you told your daddy ‘You know, you don’t have to be so happy about this all the time! You could act just a little bit sad that I’m leaving your house forever.’ So you get it honest, honey.”

I felt better. Apparently our family motto is “Don’t let the door hit you on the behind on your way out!”

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Little Brother Aidan

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nicki  |  March 2, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    You make me laugh!! Great post on this early morning! I think I’m both. I do miss the baby days and I do (obviously) have my camera with me most all of the time. But, I LONG for the day that my house is filled with just me and the man I’m blessed to grow old with!!

    Reply
  • 2. Lisbeth  |  March 3, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Anne, you are hilarious. And, I completely understand what you mean. Although, I am a bit sentimental, I’m glad they are growing up …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


