He Can Hop On Past, Thanks.

April 2, 2010 at 4:39 pm Leave a comment

I’ve been asked several times why we don’t do the Easter Bunny at our house. We don’t make a big deal about not doing it, we just don’t do it.

Nobody has to agree with me, or even care, but this is our side of the story on the whole Rabbit ordeal:

Easter is not a gift giving holiday, in my opinion. Christmas is, because of many reasons. The gift God gave to the earth in the birth of his son, the gifts the wise men brought, the legend of St. Nicholas, who gave anonymously, and so on. It is tradition to give gifts at Christmas, and we can incorporate it into the real meaning of Christmas.

Easter, however, is about one gift. Jesus gave his life on the cross, then offers the gift of eternal life to those who believe that he is who he says he is. This is the most important thing you could ever believe, and it is the difference between life with God and a life devoid of God.

I don’t want to distract from that. That’s the bottom line for me. It is hard enough to live a Christ centered life in a self centered world. Michael and I decided we don’t want to take away from the celebration of the most important thing we believe by spending time and money on gifts for our kids who can become quite caught up in “stuff”.

So nobody wakes up to a basket of Cadbury eggs and chocolate bunnies. And we’re all normal, happy people. Yes, my kids participate in egg hunts, and they are more than welcome to eat any candy that is given to them. We do have fun over the holiday weekend, but without gifts, simple as that.

I have already been deeply touched by the meaning of the cross. I don’t want to ever get over what Jesus did for me. It is as necessary for me as a heartbeat. I am continually astounded, shocked, and grateful for what happened on that day.

But then, there is the excitement that comes with knowing that he lives! And is still living with us! The very thought brings a massive lump in my throat. That is the difference between life, and abundant life for all people. The truth of his resurrection changed me, and has changed people I love. I can’t imagine having to carry my sins (which are numerous) with me every minute. I am in awe that I don’t have to.

This weekend is about one gift. I chose to receive it long ago, and I am more in awe of it today than I was then. It keeps giving to me every day, in forgiveness, grace, mercy, peace and joy. All it takes is faith.

45 From noon until three in the afternoon darkness came over the whole land. 46 At about three in the afternoon Jesus cried out with a loud voice, “Elí, Elí, lemá sabachtháni? “ that is, ” My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me? “

47 When some of those standing there heard this, they said, “He’s calling for Elijah!”

48 Immediately one of them ran and got a sponge, filled it with sour wine, fixed it on a reed, and offered Him a drink. 49 But the rest said, “Let’s see if Elijah comes to save Him!”

50 Jesus shouted again with a loud voice and gave up His spirit. 51 Suddenly, the curtain of the sanctuary was split in two from top to bottom; the earth quaked and the rocks were split. 52 The tombs also were opened and many bodies of the saints who had gone to their rest were raised. 53 And they came out of the tombs after His resurrection, entered the holy city, and appeared to many.

54 When the centurion and those with him, who were guarding Jesus, saw the earthquake and the things that had happened, they were terrified and said, “This man really was God’s Son!”


Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Circuit Training Starts This Week And This is Why I Can Never Write Professionally

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Cut my hair yesterday. Had a stress dream that I had forgotten today was my wedding and my hair was now too short. It's been a long summer. 2 weeks ago
  • Up at 5 almost every day. Practice 3 hrs/day. Eating right. This has been our summer, and it paid off. So proud of my girls and our team! 3 weeks ago
  • @CoachDavidOrr So proud of every Sunkist swimmer! We love our swim family! Thank you for a great State Meet! 3 weeks ago
  • Last night I learned that Molly swims in her sleep. She hit me in the face with a strong backstroke. She cut time- my sleep time. 3 weeks ago
  • I'm learning that social media allows us to never ask each other how we are. We assume we know. We don't. 1 month ago

