Speaking Up

August 20, 2010 at 9:08 pm 5 comments

I only have just a minute, but I wanted to write about what happened this afternoon.

I took my girls to Barnes and Noble today. We were shopping for a birthday gift, and I also wanted some workbooks for homeschool. (Have I told you Molly is homeschooling? Sorry.)

Anyway, we went to check out, and I was handing over the loot to be scanned and noticed Molly studying a magazine cover. It was the new issue of Rolling Stone. I saw the cover photo yesterday online, and wanted to throw up.

The picture is of the main characters of that HBO show, True Blood. They’re naked, covered in blood and standing very strategically, with hands on parts that should have been covered anyway.

I was sickened when I saw the picture online, but that was nothing compared to how I felt when I saw my baby staring at it, because it was EYE LEVEL with her. I immediately turned it around so the back cover was showing, and it had a cute picture of Taylor Swift with a milk mustache. I can live with that.

I went another hour or so, stewing about it. Normally, I just get fired up about stuff like that and complain to my friends and family. I decided to call somebody this time. I called B&N and asked to speak to the manager. My voice was so shaky, I was afraid of coming across as a fanatical, crazy, legalistic nut. I told him that I was a very regular customer and loved the store. I told him about my little girl seeing the cover of the magazine and how I understood he has to sell it, and they can print what they want, but the placement of the magazine in the store was just too risque’ for young eyes (and old eyes, if you ask me!) I said, “I don’t pay for cable, because I don’t want it in my house, so I really don’t want to be forced to explain all that to my kids when we come in a store that largely caters to them.” (The kid section of our B&N is HUGE, and even extends outside of the actual section).

He agreed with me one hundred percent. He said he was a Christian and told me where he went to church. He then told me that the store contracted with Rolling Stone to sell the magazine in that spot, but before that issue came out, the home office sent a message saying that if anyone called about it, they can move it.

I was the first to call, and it will be moved.

I told him I would remain a customer and would continue enjoying shopping there. I thanked him over and over and after we hung up, I praised God for going before me in the conversation. I was expecting a “Sorry, ma’am, nothin’ I can do about it.”

I know we can’t change everything to suit our personal beliefs, but I am now a believer in speaking up, especially when it affects children. It’s my job to be an advocate for them, and to protect them from what they are too young to see or understand.

God works in everything. He’s always present. He has created us to bring glory to him, and I pray that sharing this story with you does just that.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

One Size Fits All Imperfectly Perfect

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  August 20, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    You go, girl!

    Reply
  • 2. Carrie  |  August 21, 2010 at 1:50 am

    good for you. it would have bothered me too, and i’m normally too paranoid to call back. i’m glad you did, and i’m sure a lot of other moms are too.

    Reply
  • 3. Twyla  |  August 21, 2010 at 2:54 am

    Just think what would have happened if you hadn’t spoken up. Only took one person to get it moved, and that person was you!

    Reply
  • 4. JohnMark  |  August 24, 2010 at 1:50 am

    great job…I wish I had the courage to do something like that. You’re my hero!

    Reply
  • 5. Peggy Clark  |  September 28, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    Thanks Anne for speaking out and standing up for what’s right!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • @red_mama_d Once again, I'm so glad I know you. 1 day ago
  • Cut my hair yesterday. Had a stress dream that I had forgotten today was my wedding and my hair was now too short. It's been a long summer. 3 weeks ago
  • Up at 5 almost every day. Practice 3 hrs/day. Eating right. This has been our summer, and it paid off. So proud of my girls and our team! 4 weeks ago
  • @CoachDavidOrr So proud of every Sunkist swimmer! We love our swim family! Thank you for a great State Meet! 4 weeks ago
  • Last night I learned that Molly swims in her sleep. She hit me in the face with a strong backstroke. She cut time- my sleep time. 1 month ago

